The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Reason 10 Digital Piano MIDI latency
Old 6th January 2018
Here for the gear

Reason 10 Digital Piano MIDI latency

Hello there, so I just downloaded the Reason 10 trial to test the program out. It's the first DAW I've tried so I'm pretty new to stuff like this.

My issue is as I stated in the title that I get pretty bad latency when I use my digital piano to play stuff. The actual sound comes right after I pressed piano key down, so it's very frustrating to play. It's practically impossible to play with metronome on. I've also noticed that the midi notes in the sequencer are delayed by the same amount, so it's not just the sound that is delayed.

My specs are:
Yamaha Digital Piano P-105 connected to the PC with a USB to Host cable. (I've downloaded the newest drivers from yamaha's website for my pc to pick up the MIDI signal)
Windows 10 64-bit
Reason 10 newest version
Sound Blaster Z soundcard with newest drivers (My headset is connected through the SPDIF input, and I'm using the Dolby Digital Live encoder to simulate "surround" sound with my headset.)
16gb of RAM

What I've tried to do so far: First thing I did in Reason 10 was to make sure the Audio card driver was set to "ASIO Creative SBZ Series ASIO", since I've heard that ASIO is the best way to negate latency. I messed around with Recording latency compensation, but didn't notice any difference at all.

To begin with there was like half a second latency, but I went into the Control Panel inside Reason 10 under Preferences > Audio > Control Panel and turned the Creative SBZ Series ASIO latency to 2 ms. This made the latency ALOT better, but it's still very noticable.

I also tried isntalling ASIO4ALL, but I noticed no difference and I've heard bad things about that, so I uninstalled it.