Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   So Much Gear, So Little Time (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/so-much-gear-so-little-time/)
-   -   Bypassing Speakers in Combo amps? (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/so-much-gear-so-little-time/73107-bypassing-speakers-combo-amps.html)

tee boy 4th June 2006 05:47 PM

Bypassing Speakers in Combo amps?
 
I was thinking, is it practical to isolated the amplification stages with a combo amp and send them to alternative speakers?

I was thinking that I'd like to route the output of my Bluesbreaker combo to an isolation cab, as this fella is simply to fierce for me delicate lug holes, lol.

However, Im apprehesive to start messing for fear of blowing things up!

What do you reckon? Anyone doing anything like this?

Cheers,

TB

slaves666 4th June 2006 05:54 PM

I actually bought a speaker selector switch from Radio Shack years ago that handles power, and wired it directly from the combo to the switch. Then from there I wired it back to the combo, and I had another cable that went to a 4x12. I could select either the combo speaker, 4x12 or both.....very handy.

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=search

http://rsk.imageg.net/graphics/produ...160589w345.jpg

KrisNY 4th June 2006 06:04 PM

Crate (ugh, I know, but listen..) made this line of amps a number of years back called the Vintage Club. I had a 20 watt combo from the line and used it as a head through a 4x12" with Celestion G12H30's. I called it my JCM 20. Hehe. Tone was in the vein of a JCM 800, but was a tad on the thin side, which is why I bit the bullet and actually bought an 800. But for 200 bucks on eBay - totally worth it. Great tone out of that thing.

So yes, that's the long-winded way of saying bypassing a combo's speaker totally works. Just make sure you're matching proper impedence.