Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   Reviews (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/reviews/)
-   -   MON Tannoy Reveal 601a (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/reviews/673900-tannoy-reveal-601a.html)

PaPi61 3rd December 2011 02:51 AM

Tannoy Reveal 601a

Personally, I believe near-field monitors are one of the most critical elements of your studio and the serious DAW user should not spare any expense here. But then again, I'm a professional composer and it's my livelihood. If I were an amateur or a semi-pro (prosumer?), I certainly wouldn't have planked down over 3 grands on my Focal Twins (you can read my review in this section) just to get that extra 5% that can make the difference in the professional world. And, let's face it, there is also another unfortunately popular scenario, that of a very talented musician who isn't as lucky as I am to be working full-time. Especially in this awful economy, it's sadly becoming the norm.

While there's plenty of choice at the entry level price (and, unfortunately, you get what you pay for...) and at the pro level, mid-price monitors are trickier to choose from. I believe that NFM's with a 6.5-inch woofer are ideal for most users: not too big, not too small, enough bass but without going into a territory where even an 8-inch cone would be insufficient.