Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   High End (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/high-end/)
-   -   Weird Avocet Issue (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/high-end/637554-weird-avocet-issue.html)

dhiltonlittle 8th August 2011 09:42 PM

Weird Avocet Issue
 
My Avocet has been randomly resetting itself in mid session.

On two occasions, during or right before, it has BLASTED the audio out of the headphones that I happened to be wearing at the time at full output volume. Not good for my ears! I'm also worried to have any client use a pair of headphones connected to the Avocet fearing it will happen to them too.

Any thoughts on why this may be happening?

It is connected AES to a HD16io.

Bookerv12 8th August 2011 09:53 PM

I know you don't want to be wearing headphones when you hit reset.
Could you have accidentally engaged reset?

RoundBadge 8th August 2011 10:35 PM

I'm having a similar problem.randomly the remote shuts down and reboots.
main unit stays powered.
tech support said the remote might be starving for power?
recommended maybe try a new shorter connect cable.

dbjp 8th August 2011 10:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RoundBadge (Post 6919806)
I'm having a similar problem.randomly the remote shuts down and reboots.
main unit stays powered.
tech support said the remote might be starving for power?
recommended maybe try a new shorter connect cable.

I had this problem constantly recently, particularly when the dB level was hot from the Avocet (in other words raising the volume on the Avocet).
I put a stepup transformer before the Avocet so the voltage would be absolutely constant at 120v and I haven't had any problems since, knock on wood (been about a month now).
I would recommend you guys to give this a go.
Hadn't spoken to tech support but It seemed a reasonable enough guess at the time.
It's something I think they should fix though..

RoundBadge 8th August 2011 10:50 PM

thanks for heads up dbjp!

dhiltonlittle 9th August 2011 04:06 AM

Definitely seems to be a power issue.

I've been experimenting a little tonight...

dbjp 9th August 2011 02:02 PM

Guys if you do talk to Cranesong again or manage to fix the issue let us know how it turns out.
Quite sure my problem's fixed but would like to know regardless.
Thanks!

dhiltonlittle 9th August 2011 04:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dbjp (Post 6921582)
Guys if you do talk to Cranesong again or manage to fix the issue let us know how it turns out.
Quite sure my problem's fixed but would like to know regardless.
Thanks!

I spoke with Crane Song today.

They think the remote may be starved for voltage and say there is a Mod that fixes the issue. I'll let you know any more info as it comes!

dbjp 9th August 2011 04:17 PM

Thanks!!

TheSweetener 9th October 2012 06:40 PM

Sorry to warm up the thread guys, but I had the same problem today.

I turned out that it happens when the input signal of the AUX input is too hot (not too hot in a distorted way, just higher than -18db in my case).

The strange thing is, it only happens with certain signals. I received some pilot tracks for a drummer today and they make the Avocet go crazy.
Using other signals (even at hotter levels) don't make the Avocet reset.
Really, really strange and anoying!

I finally could work again when I realized that feeding the aux input with a -18db signal works fine. I boosted the drummers headphone amp to compensate.
Adds some noise but better than a constantly rebooting Avocet!

So is there any news from your side about this issue?

RoundBadge 9th October 2012 07:24 PM

I sent mine in for a checkup
Came back and the remote still resets and shuts down
ugh always in the middle of a tracking session.
Have to turn the input to the avocet way down to get around this
If the signal is hotter it shuts down.
It sends almost full volume to speakers when it doe this.
Very bad
The thing does not like to see voltages lower than 110 or it craps out.
This is the ONLY piece of gear in my studio that does this.

TheSweetener 9th October 2012 09:01 PM

sad story!

What did they say about the "reset issues"?

nickelironsteel 9th October 2012 09:08 PM

sounds like electrical issues to me, the only time the avocet and the rest of the studio reset was during a brownout during an electrical storm.

hooked everything up with the furmanns and a never again happened.

Sniperschool 9th October 2012 10:16 PM

I have a couple of Avocets
One of them started resetting itself when it got a really hot signal from the AES inputs (meters constantly hitting the red tops)
Not long after that the encoder started acting up (jumping from minimum to maximum volume randomly) and it had to be replaced
Been fine since then and can now handle hot signals no problem

SpitfireAudio 10th October 2012 12:38 AM

I had this problem after relocating from UK to LA - turned out i needed to replace the fuse as it was not correct rating for US voltage which draws more power..

Exact same symptoms. Maybe try replace the fuse with a higher rated one?

raincityrecorder 10th October 2012 03:55 AM

My Avocet does the reset thing too. Drives me nuts.

dbjp 10th October 2012 04:42 AM

Been fine ever since the step up transformer was used.
Sold it to a friend recently and it happened again, used his step up transformer and the problem's gone.
It's a stupid issue that Cranesong needs to address and let its users know, but the quick fix is there for those with problems.

Continental 10th October 2012 11:57 AM

from time to time i have volume jumping & a fast relay click sound...fortunately, only one time in 3 weeks
first i had change the remote, but same problem

Demonslave 10th October 2012 12:25 PM

Damn that's an expensive monitor controller to be having those types of issues....scary.,,,

unit7 10th October 2012 03:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Continental (Post 8342856)
from time to time i have volume jumping & a fast relay click sound...fortunately, only one time in 3 weeks
first i had change the remote, but same problem

Owner since 4 yrs. Got the clicking on mine from time to time (seldom). Got a feeling it's a mechanical thing, because it happens just when I release the knob after changing volume, and the knob seems to land between two ticks. I just turn the knob a little and click disappears. Haven't had the volume jumping though...

thehightenor 11th October 2012 06:47 AM

Interesting, I have been using an Avocet for 4 years and have never had a single issue ever.

My studio is in the UK on 240v power, maybe this is preventing these issues.

I'm really surprised by this thread, as the Avocet seems like such a bullet proof high end piece of kit.

tht

TheSweetener 19th October 2012 10:16 PM

I think the clicking issue is another problem the Avocet has.
It's not a big deal though. Here it happens four times a year and is solved by simply rotating the big volume knob.

The reset issue is a lot more serious though!
I'm in Europe (220v) and it happens here as well!

I think it's time for someone at Crane Song to join this thread! cellfone

Dean Landon 20th October 2012 01:53 AM

I've had the clicking issue and well as the rebooting. The guys at CS said there's a mod that can be done to increase supply voltage to the remote. I've been too busy to part with it, but it definitely has to be fixed.

RoundBadge 20th October 2012 03:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dean Landon (Post 8370712)
I've had the clicking issue and well as the rebooting. The guys at CS said there's a mod that can be done to increase supply voltage to the remote. I've been too busy to part with it, but it definitely has to be fixed.

I've lost good takes during tracking because of this problem.
Crane song had my unit for over a month while I waited for this supposed fix.
It did NOTHING to help the issue.
They say its a voltage issue but I've never had any voltage issues with my console and 3 outboard racks full of gear.
The problem is worse than ever.
Its a piece of gear that my entire studio hinges around.
Unnaceptable

dhiltonlittle 13th November 2012 08:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RoundBadge (Post 8371833)
I've lost good takes during tracking because of this problem.
Crane song had my unit for over a month while I waited for this supposed fix.
It did NOTHING to help the issue.
They say its a voltage issue but I've never had any voltage issues with my console and 3 outboard racks full of gear.
The problem is worse than ever.
Its a piece of gear that my entire studio hinges around.
Unnaceptable

I'm assuming they did the "mod" there? I'm afraid to send mine in especially hearing that it really made no difference either way.

I have noticed that mine is only doing it when I switch over to the phones and have a hot level coming out of PT. If I drop the level down a few DB in protools it doesn't seem to reset as much. I still find it annoying and unacceptable.

RoundBadge 21st November 2012 10:07 AM

G Damn Avocet did the reset thing..like it does about 20 times a day now.. then the whole unit completely shut down.
No power..nothing.
Dead.
this is really starting to piss me off..already sent it in the Cranesong once.

the vibe I get from these guys is tough luck..it needs to see perfect 120 volts or your outta luck.
nothing else in my studio has this issue..console.racks of outboard..old EMT plates, guitar amps etc etc.
I have a REALLY important mix client coming in this weekend too.UUGHH.

:facepalm:gruudge:facepalm::deth:grrr

bjorn 21st November 2012 02:55 PM

Does this problem appear on certain units manufactured prior to certain time?
I recently got an used avocet and this thread makes me scary
since it can damage my ears and speakers.
My remote is manufactured in 2011 and main unit in 2010.
Level pot on the remote is set to very low level like -28
because the line pads for active monitor didn't come with the used unit.
Can't imagine how bad it will be if my remote resets and bursts out noise on full level. wworried

TheSweetener 21st November 2012 03:06 PM

When my remote reboots, it's like turning off/on the Avocet.
So there's a few seconds of silence before the unit goes back to its last settings. Really annoying, but nothing dangerous!
Buying a pair of passive pads sounds like a good plan nevertheless!

Mind-Over-Midi 21st November 2012 03:18 PM

I've had mine for about five years now, with no issues to report, but this thead is starting to get me worried. I'm hoping it's not one of those! it's just a matter of time before the Avocet will act up things. I hope you guys get it all sorted out soon. kfhkh




peachh

Brad Lunde 24th November 2012 05:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RoundBadge (Post 8340902)
I sent mine in for a checkup
Came back and the remote still resets and shuts down
ugh always in the middle of a tracking session.
Have to turn the input to the avocet way down to get around this
If the signal is hotter it shuts down.
It sends almost full volume to speakers when it doe this.
Very bad
The thing does not like to see voltages lower than 110 or it craps out.
This is the ONLY piece of gear in my studio that does this.

Hey RoundBadge,
Maybe PM me and we can get a line of inquiry started from my end. I know Dave's in London right now but I can start working on it. Sounds a bit unusual for Crane Song, normally Dave builds bullet proof stuff. I'd like to know what the issue is myself.
Brad