Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   Music Computers (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/music-computers/)
-   -   Moving from Le to M-powered (save my plugins!!!) (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/music-computers/441654-moving-le-m-powered-save-my-plugins.html)

disorder 20th November 2009 01:28 AM

Moving from Le to M-powered (save my plugins!!!)
 
So,

I made the move from Le to m powered so i could use a profire 2626 for more i/o. On Le at the moment im running alot of waves stuff as well as superior drummer, metal foundry and peavey revalver. I use a mac g5

i have a few questions that desperately need answers before tomorrow.

1. Will switching over mean i will have to reinstall all those plugins?
2. Will superior drummer and revalver not be there when i open M powered?
3. Whats the most convienent method to switch my sessions over and my plugins without downloading again.
4. will the ilok i got with Le still work on my m powered daw?

5. CAn i keep LE and have both? is this gonna **** my mac up?
6. Whats the best way to uninstall LE

*i havent put my profire on my mac yet, im assuming u do that first before installing m-powered.

Im a noob and any help would be fantastic.

che

psycho_monkey 20th November 2009 01:53 AM

1 - well, you COULD copy your plugins folder, your presets folder, uninstall PT LE, install m-powered, then drop them back into place. Should work fine for waves (main folder is unaffected), most other "simple" plugins - may not work for superior drummer or anything that requires extra files in addition to the plugin file.
2 - if you've re-installed from scratch, yes - if not, see above.
3 - see above.
4 - yep it's exactly the same.
5 - you won't be able to install M-powered if LE is installed, so no.
6 - there's an uninstall program in the digidesign folder.

you've mentioned you're inexperienced - I would do a complete uninstall and re-install. Much less potential for things to go wrong.

Regarding installing the profire, refer to the instructions that came with it. Installing an Mbox requires the software before the interface (it probably won't do anything until the drivers are installed).

disorder 20th November 2009 03:13 AM

But superior would be installed in the computer hd, not the protools folders right? seeing as it can be used as stand alone

So theoretically if i do what u say, all my waves stuff, revalver and superior should still be there?

Also what happens to all my old sessions? can i open them in M-powered yeah?

psycho_monkey 20th November 2009 03:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by disorder (Post 4802877)
But superior would be installed in the computer hd, not the protools folders right? seeing as it can be used as stand alone

So theoretically if i do what u say, all my waves stuff, revalver and superior should still be there?

Also what happens to all my old sessions? can i open them in M-powered yeah?

Yes but the plugin component is in the protools plugins folder, so you'd have to rescue this before uninstalling, and drop it back again when done. Same thing with waves. I don't know revalver so I can't comment.

All your sessions should be fine, assuming you don't have the DV toolkit (I'm sure you don't).