Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   Music Computers (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/music-computers/)
-   -   DAE Problem. Do you have a solution? (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/music-computers/439281-dae-problem-do-you-have-solution.html)

Scott Mix 12th November 2009 03:46 AM

DAE Problem. Do you have a solution?
 
when I want to open one of my sessions on PT from my external HD. It opens fine but when i got to play it, it says DAE eror was encountered but if i have a session on the desktop that i open up. its fine. When i open up logic, DAE: No Audio Hardware found but it still lets me play my session. Does this mean that logic and PT do not see my A/D/A converter or anything 2 do with that. Im a bit confused

psycho_monkey 12th November 2009 03:54 AM

Don't know about confused, but you don't know how to post a question succinctly, that's for sure!

Missing some very basic info here.

PC/Mac? OS?

HD/LE/M-Powered?

What sort of drives are you using?

How exactly does logic "play" your session - from the mac's built in hardware? do you hear anything?

Giving more detail generally helps you get a better answer.

PT never "sees" an ADA converter, it "sees" a PT interface (which may have it's own converters, or which may interface with an external converter).

Scott Mix 12th November 2009 04:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by psycho_monkey (Post 4773888)
Don't know about confused, but you don't know how to post a question succinctly, that's for sure!

Missing some very basic info here.

PC/Mac? OS?

HD/LE/M-Powered?

What sort of drives are you using?

How exactly does logic "play" your session - from the mac's built in hardware? do you hear anything?

Giving more detail generally helps you get a better answer.

PT never "sees" an ADA converter, it "sees" a PT interface (which may have it's own converters, or which may interface with an external converter).

Mac Os 10.5.8
M-Powered
Western digital hd
Logic plays the session from the macs built in hardware and i do hear everything that is in the session when i play it back

psycho_monkey 12th November 2009 06:45 PM

M powered what? 7.4.2, 8?

What interface?

Western digital...I meant internal, USB or FW? It doesn't really matter what make the drive is, only how it's connected and what chipset.

Logic isn't using your PT interface at all. In fact, I'd wager the "actual" error message is something along the lines of "the previously selected hardware can not be found, the built in audio device will be used for this session" - can't remember the exact wording.

have you tried the obvious, like trying a different connection cable to the interface, checking it can be seen in system profiler and/or audiomidi setup (if not there's a hardware problem, either with the cable or with the interface itself), re-installing the coreaudio driver for the interface, reinstalling PT? tried recording onto a different drive in PT?

All basic troubleshooting to narrow down where the problem actually lies.