Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   Geekslutz Forum (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/geekslutz-forum/)
-   -   question about volts and amperes! (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/geekslutz-forum/439210-question-about-volts-amperes.html)

aksion 11th November 2009 11:44 PM

question about volts and amperes!
 
hi,

this may be a newb question i was wondering..

in a digital system bit depth represents dynamic range and sample rate represents frequency response.

what about in analogue signals? is the amplitude represented by current or volts or have i got it all wrong?!!

thanks
andi

ulysses 12th November 2009 01:52 AM

Most of the time, SPL is represented by a voltage by means of a transducer (microphone). At various stages in the electronic circuitry, the signal may be represented by a current instead. Of course you can't have one without the other. Ohm's law.

lassoharp 14th November 2009 11:55 PM

Amplitude is simply a measurement of the max value of voltage or current in terms of waveforms. It's telling you how large one or the other is but not necessarily telling you the frequency of the signal.

Don't know if that's exactly what you wanted to know or not.