Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   Geekslutz Forum (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/geekslutz-forum/)
-   -   Coleman M3 Meter Mod (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/geekslutz-forum/43017-coleman-m3-meter-mod.html)

Dor 16th September 2005 06:22 PM

Coleman M3 Meter Mod
 
Hello there. I'm attempting to modify my coleman M3 to send a stereo meter feed out to my dorrough unit. Glen Coleman was kind enough to send me the instructions but now i have a question since i'm a soldering newbie.

Can i connect a wire directly to the pcb and if so , can i just plug the wire into one of the holes and solder away? There are two holes for both the R & L hi & lo's. The following linked jpg shows the pcb ...

http://www.boomspot.com/M3PCB.jpg (the

thanks in advance.

Dor

Dor 16th September 2005 09:45 PM

so i ran some wire from the board to the dorrough & all is well. Sometimes it's better to do first and ask questions last.

D

coley 19th September 2005 02:10 PM

hi dor
 
Glad it worked out OK even tho we never spoke on the phone.

IM WHO YOU THINK 27th May 2020 09:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dor (Post 428693)
Hello there. I'm attempting to modify my coleman M3 to send a stereo meter feed out to my dorrough unit. Glen Coleman was kind enough to send me the instructions but now i have a question since i'm a soldering newbie.

Can i connect a wire directly to the pcb and if so , can i just plug the wire into one of the holes and solder away? There are two holes for both the R & L hi & lo's. The following linked jpg shows the pcb ...

http://www.boomspot.com/M3PCB.jpg (the

thanks in advance.

Dor

I know it's old, but are you still using this? I'm trying to decide between wiring up my Dcommand or continuing to use my Coleman M3.

Also, I may add Dorrough meters.

coley 28th May 2020 10:15 AM

Yes you can solder directly to the PCB and those holes are just for that
You do need to replace the XLR outputs with panel mount jacks and solder to them as well

Dor 30th May 2020 02:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by IM WHO YOU THINK (Post 14765911)
I know it's old, but are you still using this? I'm trying to decide between wiring up my Dcommand or continuing to use my Coleman M3.

Also, I may add Dorrough meters.

Hey man, I'm no longer using the M3 as I switched to the UA Apollo line a while back when I moved on from my HD system. 15 years since I wrote that post! Where does the time go? kfhkh

D

IM WHO YOU THINK 30th May 2020 11:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dor (Post 14770789)
Hey man, I'm no longer using the M3 as I switched to the UA Apollo line a while back when I moved on from my HD system. 15 years since I wrote that post! Where does the time go? kfhkh

D

I'm wondering if If I'll need the meters or my M3.

I'm leaning toward using the Dcommand/Xmon, and I can use plugin meters.

I've used the M3 for ages,but I think having programmable trims in this era of Sonarworks profiles may come in handy.