Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   So Much Gear, So Little Time (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/so-much-gear-so-little-time/)
-   -   hardware digital mixers and summing (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/so-much-gear-so-little-time/39231-hardware-digital-mixers-summing.html)

massimo 7th August 2005 06:52 PM

hardware digital mixers and summing

Sorry this may be a really silly question.

Let's say I do not want to use a computer for tracking and mixing audio - I already use it too much for other things. Really.

I am a musician, and I like hardware.
I have updated just about anything in my home studio in the past two years. The last obsolete object is my trusty Yamaha 03D digital mixer, which I only use at mixing for setting and storing volumes and panpots, and as a very handy digital router. I do not use its pres, converters, and processors, but I still like the idea of a hardware mixer.

My silly question is: is mixing through a hardware digital mixer like in the box mixing? Does it make any sense to keep using my mixer as a front end for the above mentioned purposes, and consider a multi channel D/A converter and a summing box? Would pan pot and volume settings of individual tracks/channels still be effective? Remember, I do not want a computer in my room.

Thank you
best regards
Massimo

DirkB 7th August 2005 06:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by massimo
Sorry this may be a really silly question.

Let's say I do not want to use a computer for tracking and mixing audio - I already use it too much for other things. Really.

I have updated just about anything in my home studio in the past two years. The last obsolete object is my trusty Yamaha 03D digital mixer, which I only use at mixing for setting and storing volumes and panpots, and as a very handy digital router. I do not use its pres, converters, and processors, but I still like the idea of a hardware mixer.