Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   Mastering Forum (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/mastering-forum/)
-   -   DDP-fileset to Exabyte (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/mastering-forum/141441-ddp-fileset-exabyte.html)

sgtpetter 27th August 2007 10:21 AM

DDP-fileset to Exabyte

Hi.

I'm looking for an easy and reliable way to export a DDP-fileset to Exabyte. The DDP-fileset is on HDD.

Sugarnutz 27th August 2007 02:55 PM

I am not an expert, but I picked up an external Exabyte 8mm tape drive on Ebay for $25 bucks, worked great. I believe most programs that support DDP such as Sequoia have the ability to export direct to Exabyte, might have to reload the DDP file and do a new export. Hope this helps.

Alpha Bob 27th August 2007 03:36 PM

Is there a particular reason why it has to be Exabyte as it's also possible to export to Jaz, DVD etc. Also, if it's for replication, most plants accept ftp transfers.

Alpha Bob

Jerry Tubb 27th August 2007 04:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sgtpetter (Post 1461320)
I'm looking for an easy and reliable way to export a DDP-fileset to Exabyte. The DDP-fileset is on HDD.

I think most folks are burning DDP filesets to DVD-R these days, instead of Exabyte.

Most digital tape formats, much like floppy discs, & Jaz drives, have been rendered obsolete.

But maybe you've got a good reason to need Exabyte(?)

JT

Bob Olhsson 27th August 2007 05:00 PM

A brand new Exabyte was never something most of us considered very reliable. Likewise tape quality has been in steady decline for more than ten years.

I'd seriously look to using different media.

elpillo 27th August 2007 05:37 PM

When I got my Sequoia system I thought for a couple of seconds to get an Exabyte drive, but fortunately never did. I do all my DDP stuff on DVD's or via FTP. It always works...

sgtpetter 28th August 2007 08:15 AM