Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   iOS + Android Music + Audio Production Apps + Peripherals (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/ios-android-music-audio-production-apps-peripherals/)
-   -   Audio and MIDI Interface For iPad (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/ios-android-music-audio-production-apps-peripherals/1319462-audio-midi-interface-ipad.html)

G4s 22nd July 2020 03:59 PM

Audio and MIDI Interface For iPad

Hi

Complete novice getting into music apps on iPad. Looking to add an audio interface with line in and out functionality and also MIDI in and out. It's 6th gen iPad with lightning connectivity and would like to have iPad receive power while audio interface is connected too.

Budget up to £250 but happy to spend much less if there's a good and relatively inexpensive option that will do the job. It's for home use and to help me link iPad with MPC Live.

Any suggestions will be much appreciated.

Cheers

G4s

Moonwhistle 22nd July 2020 11:39 PM

Inexpensive & good = used Steinberg UR22 or UR44 Mk2.

Hozay 23rd July 2020 12:30 PM

Look at the MOTU M series interfaces (M2 & M4). To power the Lightning iPad and interface you’ll need the Apple USB 3 Camera Adapter. The Apple adapter is expensive but more reliable than cheaper knockoffs, IME.

Goa-Dubs 28th July 2020 07:45 PM

Look at IConnectAudio 2 or 4,plugs with cable straight into lightning port and also charges it.Has midi.Also can be used at the same time with computer via USB!!!!!Low latency and sounds very good.I got the 4 input one.

G4s 6th August 2020 06:15 PM

Thanks all for the replies. Much appreciated thanks.

G4s

Cpl. Punishment 6th August 2020 06:38 PM

Just a bit more information on lightning-based iPads:

The iPad pro 13" operates at USB3 speeds, where the 9" version only operates at USB2 speeds. These are the seventh generation, and all the previous versions also operate at USB2 speeds as well...