Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   Music Computers (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/music-computers/)
-   -   MAC MINI 8th GENERATION vs MAC PRO (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/music-computers/1315747-mac-mini-8th-generation-vs-mac-pro.html)

franzalicestern 21st June 2020 03:28 AM

MAC MINI 8th GENERATION vs MAC PRO

Hello,

I'm really not a big expert about computers, but still, I need to buy a new one able to run Logic Pro X, Ableton 10 and ProTools.

I'm struggling between the new mac mini and the new mac pro, since they pass over 3000€ difference.

The first option would be a mac mini for 3559€:

I7 6 core 3.2 GHz
64GB DDR4 2666MHz
SSD 2TB

The second option would be a mac pro for 7599€:

Xeon 8 core 3.5 GHz
32GB DDR4
SSD 2TB

My question is...is this mac pro worth 7500€? The characteristics are looking worst compared to the mac mini, and if not, just for two cores more, are worth 7599€? Especially when I could get 64GB DDR4 on the mac mini for half of the price of a mac pro?

Thanks in advance for your answers and your help

Best
Francesco

biksonije 21st June 2020 12:43 PM

Doing this for fun, as a side gig or working a pro studio setup that will make serious income?

If first, go for MacPro because of architecture, expanability, air flow, power supply ability... Or wait a year or better two (maybe even 3!) to ARM chips come out and we all can see their weaknesses but also to devs have time to prepare and re-work their digital tolls (DAW, Plugins etc.).

If latter, oh well, then neither! Go search and buy MacPro fastest cheesegrater 5.1 dual CPU machine. That will give you more than enough power for your needs for software you're asking about for next 5-10 years! And all that for whopping 1.000-1.500 EUR! ;-)

PS: I am not a Win (PC) hater but I didn't mention Win platform because I am simply not a PC person. OK if necessary but if possiblity is to have a choice - Mac all day long!

uptheoctave 21st June 2020 12:46 PM