Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   Mastering Forum (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/mastering-forum/)
-   -   Do we need to Dither while capturing in 2nd Daw? (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/mastering-forum/1308712-do-we-need-dither-while-capturing-2nd-daw.html)

amit monga 1st May 2020 05:25 PM

Do we need to Dither while capturing in 2nd Daw?
 
Do we need to Dither while capturing a 16bit file in 2nd Daw?

Adam Dempsey 2nd May 2020 01:13 AM

What's the source and the signal path?
If via a DAC-ADC recapture and the ADC is set to 16 bit it should be dithering correctly internally, so no, not in the capture DAW.
Although if intending to process or alter the audio at all, make it a 24 or 32 bit DAW session.
If it's a digital transfer via DSP being captured at 16 bit, then yes.

biksonije 2nd May 2020 01:17 PM

If same bits are in question (16 <=> 16) then I wouldn't add noise. If 'resizing' then try with a few options to hear which one suits your needs best. I asume one DAW to another (two computers) and some box in between? Like one is source and other is receiving (recording)?

amit monga 3rd May 2020 10:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam Dempsey (Post 14703232)
What's the source and the signal path?
If via a DAC-ADC recapture and the ADC is set to 16 bit it should be dithering correctly internally, so no, not in the capture DAW.
Although if intending to process or alter the audio at all, make it a 24 or 32 bit DAW session.
If it's a digital transfer via DSP being captured at 16 bit, then yes.

Hi. After the signal leaves my analog chain i will record into second computer with different interface or ad converter. So my source will be analog and destination will be digital. As converters are 24bit so does this means that if i record back in 16bit then i have to use dither?

Trakworx 3rd May 2020 06:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by amit monga (Post 14706336)
As converters are 24bit so does this means that if i record back in 16bit then i have to use dither?

Adam said the 24 bit converter should automatically apply dither internally when set to record at 16 bit. I agree with him. You do not need to apply additional dither.

Adam Dempsey 3rd May 2020 11:29 PM

If the destination is a 16 bit capture and it's not going to be altered/processed further at all, then set the ADC to 16 bit and it (should) dither correctly, internally.