Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   Product Alerts older than 2 months (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/product-alerts-older-than-2-months/)
-   -   PreSonus Expands Thunderbolt Interface Line with Quantum 2626 (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/product-alerts-older-than-2-months/1293980-presonus-expands-thunderbolt-interface-line-quantum-2626-a.html)

The Press Desk 9th January 2020 06:45 PM

PreSonus Expands Thunderbolt Interface Line with Quantum 2626
 
2 Attachment(s)

PreSonus Expands Thunderbolt Interface Line with Quantum 2626

Baton Rouge, Louisiana—January 2019… The newest model in PreSonus®’ Quantum series of audio interfaces, the Quantum 2626 uses the blazing fast Thunderbolt 3 bus to achieve a barely measurable roundtrip latency (as low as <1 ms), enabling you to record and monitor with up to 24-bit, 192 kHz fidelity through your favorite plug-ins, without leaving your DAW. High-quality converters on every analog input and output provide 115 dB of dynamic range to capture complex musical harmonics smoothly and naturally with no audible distortion.

The Quantum 2626 provides up to 26 inputs and 26 outputs, with 8 of PreSonus’ lauded XMAX Class A analog microphone preamps, 2 instrument inputs to directly connect basses and guitars, and 6 balanced line level inputs for your favorite synths all on front-mounted combo jacks. The first two inputs are equipped with direct outputs and dedicated returns to patch in your favorite outboard gear. An additional 18 inputs and outputs are available via ADAT/dual SMUX and S/PDIF.

You also get eight ¼” TRS outputs that are DC coupled for sending control voltages, plus two balanced Main outputs, two high-volume headphone outs with dedicated volume controls, and MIDI I/O. BNC word clock I/O ensures the Quantum 2626 and other digital audio devices operate in tight sync. The interface is well protected by a 1U rack-mountable, rugged, all-metal chassis with metal knobs.

With the included Studio One® Artist DAW, the Quantum 2626 is a complete recording solution. The interface also is compatible with any recording software that supports Core Audio (macOS) or ASIO (Windows). Free PreSonus UC Surface control software for Mac® and Windows® provides access to full metering, including metering for connected PreSonus DP88 8-channel A/DA preamp/converters, as well as UC Surface’s integrated Real-Time Analyzer (RTA).

The Quantum 2626 is available now at PreSonus dealers at a U.S. street price of $599.95. For more information visit www.presonus.com/products/Quantum-2626.

Ox Han 9th January 2020 06:58 PM

what are the differences between this new unit and the tb2 26x32, which is double the price of this new unit? More simply, what is different about the older unit and why is the new unit so much cheaper?

sirthought 9th January 2020 07:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Phoenix (Post 14438284)
There are 8 pres on the 26X32. Only two on the 2626. Not sure if that is all the reason but it does help explain some.

You need to read the information above once again.

Quote:

8 of PreSonus’ lauded XMAX Class A analog microphone preamps

sirthought 9th January 2020 07:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ox Han (Post 14438190)
what are the differences between this new unit and the tb2 26x32, which is double the price of this new unit? More simply, what is different about the older unit and why is the new unit so much cheaper?

Just look at the two of them.

Part of your answer yourself in the question: TB2 vs TB3; 32 digital outs vs 26 digital outs

The 26x32 has much more in the way of studio control. Talkback mic. Volume knob. LED readouts.

The 26 x 26 has a couple other differences to help with hooking up outboard gear for a tracking chain or insert effect.

RyanM 9th January 2020 07:58 PM

Probably lower grade converters on this one. Only one TB3 jack is strange. And 2626 means the headphones probably don't have separate DAC outputs, which means no cue mixes. Fail.

Ox Han 9th January 2020 08:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sirthought (Post 14438335)
Just look at the two of them.

Part of you answer yourself in the question: TB2 vs TB3; 32 digital outs vs 26 digital outs

The 26x32 has much more in the way of studio control. Talkback mic. Volume knob. LED readouts.

The 26 x 26 has a couple other differences to help with hooking up outboard gear for a tracking chain or insert effect.

I guess I was more interested in converters and phone outs, but this was useful. Thanks

sirthought 9th January 2020 08:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ox Han (Post 14438433)
I guess I was more interested in converters and phone outs, but this was useful. Thanks

Based on the Sweetwater video, their marketing guy talks a lot about the Quantum 'series' being the fastest latency interfaces. This makes me feel like clocking, converters, and processing is pretty much the same throughout. It's the functionality around that that differs from model to model.

travis.funk 9th January 2020 11:20 PM

I really love my Quantum 26x32 - it's easily the best interface I've ever owned, but I always feel like Presonus gets to 90% perfect and then cripples their designs with a major flaw. For the original Quantum and the Quantum 2, it's two front panel XLR combo jacks. For the Digimax DP-88 it's no signal from the mic pre when the line in is enabled (no insert ability for my ACP-88 for instance). For this Quantum 2626, it's no 2nd Thunderbolt 3 port.

Presonus even advertises that the Quantum series can be combined together to give your system different types of I/Os and expandability, yet this new interface can't do that due to a hardware limitation just to save on production costs. An entry price of $799 would have been acceptable (to me) to get that 2nd TB3 port and allow expandability in the new product line.

Secondly, I don't see how there are only 26 outputs here, even without the ability to select separate headphone outs:
8x Line outs
2x Main outs
2x SPDIF outs
16x ADAT outs
-----------------
28 outputs

does the SPDIF always mirror the mains? or has to be assigned as a mirror of another analog out? I can just make out that the ADATs are assigned to 11-18 and 19-26. On my Quantum SPDIF is 9-10, where are the mains? are they not counted in the 26 maybe?

anon 9th January 2020 11:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sirthought (Post 14438499)
Based on the Sweetwater video, their marketing guy talks a lot about the Quantum 'series' being the fastest latency interfaces. This makes me feel like clocking, converters, and processing is pretty much the same throughout. It's the functionality around that that differs from model to model.

I had a good look at the specs and it's mostly exactly the same as the Quantum, I think this might be a really great unit for the price, and the simplicity is actually a good thing IMO, there is nothing I would want that this didn't offer as long as it sounds the same as the Quantum which sounds great IMO.

LastCrack 11th January 2020 09:39 AM

I own a presonus quantum, do you think I could connect it with presonus 2626?

sirthought 11th January 2020 10:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LastCrack (Post 14443140)
I own a presonus quantum, do you think I could connect it with presonus 2626?

Marketing manager says in Sweetwater video it can connect with the rest of the series. You'd need a cable that goes TB 2 to TB3, or an adapter. The 26 x 26 only has one TB port, so it would be at the end of the chain.

LastCrack 11th January 2020 11:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sirthought (Post 14443170)
Marketing manager says in Sweetwater video it can connect with the rest of the series. You'd need a cable that goes TB 2 to TB3, or an adapter. The 26 x 26 only has one TB port, so it would be at the end of the chain.

I was thinking that too, but he does not clarify which quantum series. Is a new quantum series with thunderbolt 3 on track? Is it possible with an adapter from quantum or it needs 2 thunderbolt outputs from a PC?

sirthought 11th January 2020 12:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LastCrack (Post 14443259)
I was thinking that too, but he does not clarify which quantum series. Is a new quantum series with thunderbolt 3 on track? Is it possible with an adapter from quantum or it needs 2 thunderbolt outputs from a PC?

On their website there is only one Quantum series. I wouldn't get hung up on the TB3. It's just them keeping the hardware current. The actual data transport would still work fine in TB1, as that has more than enough bandwidth. TB3 adds no advantage other than that's what is on today's new computers.

A thunderbolt cable from the Quantum to the 26x26 should work. I daisy chain my Universal Audio gear and you can chain multiple units.

loopy 12th January 2020 01:45 AM

So what kind of cable would I need to connect this to my Gigabyte Designare z390 with the built in USB C Thunderbolt 3 ports?

sirthought 12th January 2020 02:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by loopy (Post 14445048)
So what kind of cable would I need to connect this to my Gigabyte Designare z390 with the built in USB C Thunderbolt 3 ports?

Any thunderbolt cable will work. Just make sure you have a 'C' end or adapter.

loopy 12th January 2020 03:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sirthought (Post 14445148)
Any thunderbolt cable will work. Just make sure you have a 'C' end or adapter.

Thank you!

LastCrack 13th January 2020 09:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sirthought (Post 14443332)
On their website there is only one Quantum series. I wouldn't get hung up on the TB3. It's just them keeping the hardware current. The actual data transport would still work fine in TB1, as that has more than enough bandwidth. TB3 adds no advantage other than that's what is on today's new computers.

A thunderbolt cable from the Quantum to the 26x26 should work. I daisy chain my Universal Audio gear and you can chain multiple units.

I have daisy chained a quantum and a quantum 2. I don't know if a startech tb3 to tb2 is going to work between a quantum and a 2626. I know it shouldn't matter but normally with a tb3 to tb2 adapter you connect from a tb3 to a tb2. In this case (quantum to 2626) you are connecting a tb2 to tb3.

sirthought 13th January 2020 11:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LastCrack (Post 14448083)
I have daisy chained a quantum and a quantum 2. I don't know if a startech tb3 to tb2 is going to work between a quantum and a 2626. I know it shouldn't matter but normally with a tb3 to tb2 adapter you connect from a tb3 to a tb2. In this case (quantum to 2626) you are connecting a tb2 to tb3.

I don't think it matters which direction.

careybruce 15th January 2020 04:59 PM

I think it’s exactly that. They don’t have a Tb3 interface on the market till now. I’d love to know what’s the difference in the converters when they say “high quality” or “audio file”. That wording is the only reason I bought a quantum and just days before this came out too.

hi-d-ho-man 16th January 2020 02:08 AM

As I am considering getting two of these, I reached to Presonus...

I asked: Is it possible to aggregate two of these units on a system with two separate
tb3 ports?

It’s a shame that there was not a second port to allow daisy chaining
without wasting a second tb port. Especially when your previous units
included this. Also competitor products have it as well.

Thank you,

They answered:
Hello xxxx,


Thank you for your interest in PreSonus Audio!

Yes. It is possible to aggregate with a computer that has two Thunderbolt 3 ports. We withheld the extra port in favor of keeping down cost.

Please let me know if you have any further questions or issues that I may be of assistance in answering.



Best regards,

Houston Dragna
Inside Sales Coordinator

PreSonus Audio Electronics
18011 Grand Bay Court
Baton Rouge, LA 70809-USA
www.presonus.com
+1.225.216.7887 Corporate
+1.225.926.8347 Fax

bobbybland 16th January 2020 02:49 AM

Let me guess, same xmax pre's ? Rehashed quantum technology from 2 years ago too right? same lower grade conversion too right? :facepalm:

Jim Rosebrook 16th January 2020 06:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hi-d-ho-man (Post 14458371)
Yes. It is possible to aggregate with a computer that has two Thunderbolt 3 ports. We withheld the extra port in favor of keeping down cost.

Great to have info on aggregation. Thanks for sharing.

Lots of bang for the buck with this.

electro 16th January 2020 02:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bobbybland (Post 14458502)
Let me guess, same xmax pre's ? Rehashed quantum technology from 2 years ago too right? same lower grade conversion too right? :facepalm:

The RTL specs for the Quantum2 line are impressive. You find issue with the A/D ?

The Press Desk 20th January 2020 01:17 PM


dickiefunk 22nd January 2020 08:27 PM

Good to see Presonus releasing TB3 interfaces. Really hoping there will be an update to the original Quantum to have Thunderbolt 3 and improved converters.

travis.funk 27th January 2020 11:37 PM

Are the converters in the Quantum bad? I'm clocking all of my digital gear from my Apogee Big Ben and I think they sound more clear and open than any other converters I've had (not that those are anything great - M-Audio ProFire 2626, Alesis Ai3, MOTU 2408 Mk2&3, M-Audio Octane, Presonus Digimax FS&LT, Digi 192 I/O).

rackzpro 28th January 2020 01:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dickiefunk (Post 14481295)
Good to see Presonus releasing TB3 interfaces. Really hoping there will be an update to the original Quantum to have Thunderbolt 3 and improved converters.

i wouldn't hold my breath

travis.funk 28th January 2020 08:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dickiefunk (Post 14481295)
Good to see Presonus releasing TB3 interfaces. Really hoping there will be an update to the original Quantum to have Thunderbolt 3 and improved converters.

There is no advantage to TB 3 on the original quantum. It has a channel count limit that does not exceed the current available bandwidth. You just want them to update the product so that you don't need an adapter? confoosed They just short-changed their first TB 3 product with a single port, severely restricting the ability to aggregate or take advantage of chaining storage on a TB bus.

I'd rather have a new product called Quantum 3 with 8 remote mic pres, DB25 line outs, 2 main outs, 2 headphones, MADI optical I/O, 16x16 ADAT I/O, and AVB. That kind of channel count is possible thanks to TB 3.

Cpl. Punishment 28th January 2020 09:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by travis.funk (Post 14493493)
Are the converters in the Quantum bad? I'm clocking all of my digital gear from my Apogee Big Ben and I think they sound more clear and open than any other converters I've had (not that those are anything great - M-Audio ProFire 2626, Alesis Ai3, MOTU 2408 Mk2&3, M-Audio Octane, Presonus Digimax FS&LT, Digi 192 I/O).

I really can't speak to the new 2626, but the Quantum (TB2 26x32) I have expanded with two Digimax FS units sounds just amazing. "Clear and open" really does describe them. I don't know if the Quantum still use the same discrete high-voltage XMAX preamps from the Digimax FS, but overall I don't hear a difference.

Jim Rosebrook 28th January 2020 09:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by travis.funk (Post 14495430)
I'd rather have a new product called Quantum 3 with 8 remote mic pres, DB25 line outs, 2 main outs, 2 headphones, MADI optical I/O, 16x16 ADAT I/O, and AVB. That kind of channel count is possible thanks to TB 3.

I'm happy to see the new lower cost Quantum emerge.. but would hope to see this big-brother come along soon too.

2nd TB3 port, Remote pres & AVB being the most desired features...