Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   Ableton Live (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/ableton-live/)
-   -   MIDI controller behaving strangely (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/ableton-live/1293681-midi-controller-behaving-strangely.html)

MaryjkaB 7th January 2020 12:10 PM

MIDI controller behaving strangely
 
1 Attachment(s)
Hello folks! I'm kinda new here, so first of all warm greetings to all of you :)

But straight to the point - I've recently switched to Ableton (from Reaper), because I started incorporating more and more MIDI synths into my live performances. Everything has been working perfectly fine until the day my Arturia Keylab 61 started behaving strangely. It seems like a fragment of the keyboard does not respond (usually notes from A# to C#). First I thought that the midi controller was broken, but I've checked it in Reaper and in turned out that the controller itself works properly. I've checked once again in Ableton and noticed that in the upper right corner different controls light up while playing the keys that work, and those that remain silent. I am attaching a photo of that, in case it helps!

Can anybody tell me what happened? I'm totally lost and can't even google this issue...

bitleyTM 7th January 2020 12:14 PM

each keyboard like that can output over a full 8/9 octave range so if you've transposed the keyboard "out of range" for ableton it might ignore those messages – easiest thing is to connect a standard synth vst / au and listen to "where" you are on the keyboard; a normal C3 played on the keyboard must align with a normal C3 from the synth plug you've connected. it's just a matter of going back to normal using oct + / oct - or on some models this is done by pressing those oct buttons at the same time as well.

MaryjkaB 7th January 2020 04:37 PM

Thanks for the reply! I've checked it and it doesn't seem to be the case in this situation: the controller's display shows that it's "octave 0" and it also behaves correctly - when I play C3 it is indeed sending C3 to Ableton. Still, random 4 keys in the middle of the keyboard do not work. Anything higher than C#2 works, same with anything below A#1, the in-between is a dead spot. Another thing that I've noticed is that when I "transpose" it an octave higher the dead spot also moves up. Weird stuff confoosed

pottering 7th January 2020 11:40 PM

The "led" indicators between "Key" and "MIDI" indicate the messages are being used as "Remote Control". MIDI used as Remote Control is not sent to the Track's inputs anymore.

https://www.ableton.com/en/manual/mi...emote-control/

bitleyTM 8th January 2020 04:21 AM

I just remembered how Cubase on Atari could do this and I had no internet to ask for help. ;) I guess that's how we learnt to check each menu and setting in those glory days.

MaryjkaB 8th January 2020 10:48 AM

Thank you a lot, I have a feeling that this is what is causing the issues :). I'll check it out when I get back home.

Oh well, that's one of the reasons why I am grateful for being born when I was born - we've got google, software and musical gear that is really easy (and cheap!) to get and what is even better we can share our music with the world in a matter of seconds! The only thing we have to do is go out there and create, there are no excuses :).

Anyways, thanks once again, I think that will solve the problem.