Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   Geekslutz Forum (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/geekslutz-forum/)
-   -   Using Neve channel strips with summing amp (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/geekslutz-forum/1292191-using-neve-channel-strips-summing-amp.html)

mixingtom 22nd December 2019 08:10 PM

Using Neve channel strips with summing amp
 
Hey all,

Not sure if this question is in the right part of the forum, but please correct me it if it's not.

I have a question that has to do with audio level and connecting some Neve 1081 channel strips to my Rupert Neve summing mixer.

I am just curious...does it make a difference if I go out from Protools, straight into my Neves and then take the output and send it to the inputs of my summing mixer, or if I use the insert send of the summing mixer?

Becuase isn't the level coming out of the Neves a lot hotter than the level coming out of my DAW? And wouldnt this overload the line amp of the summing mixer?

Plus that you get two line amps in a row?

Would it make a difference if I do an insert send and return, connnecting the Neve Channel strips into the chain this way?

Thank you in advance!

T

ruffrecords 25th December 2019 12:56 AM

If you are driving a 1081 from your DAW you will need to switch the 1081 to its line input. Its output will then be very similar in level to the level out of your DAW. In other words, set your 1081 to unity gain and you will be fine.

Cheers

Ian

elegentdrum 25th December 2019 01:47 AM

You gain a good EQ, and the need for level matching.