Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   Other DAWs (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/other-daws/)
-   -   Samplitude x4 vs MOTU AVB hardware (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/other-daws/1289004-samplitude-x4-vs-motu-avb-hardware.html)

knightfly 25th November 2019 10:00 PM

Samplitude x4 vs MOTU AVB hardware
 
Hey slutz, long time no post - I keep getting emails for the $149 upgrade (been using Samplitude since it was a Sek'D product, last version used was Producer 2496 V6 on an XP laptop :facepalm:

The current upgrade offer expires 12/1/19, no way of knowing how many more will be forthcoming.

I've been putting together the components for a new DAW, and already bought a MOTU 8pre-es and a 24i (looking to do up to 32 inputs from several tone modules/keyboards/guitar and bass processors, etc, so that my only "cable swapping" is with a mouse.

So far I haven't found much real life experience on using Samplitude with MOTU hardware, so ANY actual user input is welcome.

(Highlighted because this is the ACTUAL QUESTION - the rest is just background, but since I'm an admitted "information *****", anything that seems pertinent to the subject is entirely welcome :=)

Base for the new DAW is a Dell XPS8920 (Costco version of the 8930 mostly) - it has onboard graphics PLUS the "dreaded" Nvidia add-on (GTX 1050Ti, 4 GB) - I'm aware of some problems with those cards and some drivers, and if necessary I'll replace it with a less problematic card.

I'm running 2 Samsung UHD monitors AND a smaller Visio TV on it at present, using the HDMI and Display ports on the NVidia card for the Samsungs, and the onboard HDMI for the little Visio (NOT "married" to the Visio necessarily, but could find a use for the extra real estate)

The Dell is running Win10 Pro on an Intel Core i7-7700, 3.6 GHz; I've been following the discussion on the "perfect daw version" for awhile now. Still need to do more homework on minimizing MicroSlop's interference/updating crap.

I've already upgraded the ram from 16 to 32 gigs and intend to add a couple SSD's, using one of the ssd's for recording. The other will most likely become the boot drive, relegating the "spinner" (1 TB, 7200 rpm WDC) to storage/backup.

Again, the main question's highlighted above but don't be shy - thanks... Steve

bremusound 25th November 2019 11:23 PM

It just works. Highly recommended!
A few weeks ago i made a live recording with 32ch @ 96khz (Two MOTU Stage B16 feeding a M64 via AVB, USB2 into a HP Elitebook with Sam X4), without any problems.

knightfly 26th November 2019 09:35 AM

bremusound, that's really encouraging; hopefully a few more satisfied users will chime in, but I'm getting more enthused about grabbing the $149 special before the weekend; I've already dropped about $4k on computer,monitors and I/O, so another $150 shouldn't be too painful :amaze:

I'm 74 now and this addiction's pretty much turned into just a personal hobby by now, might as well have some fun with it without somebody ELSE tellin' me how to mix rockout ... Steve

knightfly 28th November 2019 09:34 AM

OK, since there's only one person on the planet that's using MOTU hardware with samplitude confoosed I have another question regarding

How to get the best version/build of Win10 if you already have win10 Pro, but on an OEM machine (the Dell I referred to above) - it sounds like you need to be in the "insiders club", but I've not seen anyone spell this out - as in, how/where/what, etc - including links, specific version/build (sounds like so far this would be 1903, KB4505903?

I don't recall which version my machine has in it (other than it's NOT 1903), hasn't been powered up in a few months (Life is the crap that happens to ya while yer busy makin' plans)

Basically I want to get this machine set up and then NOT CHANGED once it's working, for as long as Microsoft can stand not screwing things up that're actually WORKING -

Been away from most of this stuff since I stopped moderating @ John Sayers' site several years ago, appreciate getting a "leg up" on more recent things.. Steve

Psychlist1972 28th November 2019 07:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by knightfly (Post 14349701)
OK, since there's only one person on the planet that's using MOTU hardware with samplitude confoosed I have another question regarding

How to get the best version/build of Win10 if you already have win10 Pro, but on an OEM machine (the Dell I referred to above) - it sounds like you need to be in the "insiders club", but I've not seen anyone spell this out - as in, how/where/what, etc - including links, specific version/build (sounds like so far this would be 1903, KB4505903?

I don't recall which version my machine has in it (other than it's NOT 1903), hasn't been powered up in a few months (Life is the crap that happens to ya while yer busy makin' plans)

Basically I want to get this machine set up and then NOT CHANGED once it's working, for as long as Microsoft can stand not screwing things up that're actually WORKING -

Been away from most of this stuff since I stopped moderating @ John Sayers' site several years ago, appreciate getting a "leg up" on more recent things.. Steve

If the machine is dedicated to DAW use only, and you don't use it for browsing the web, doing your banking, or other potentially exploitable activities, then you can disable updates.

As for which version: if you plan to lock down for a while, just install the latest: 1909. You'll have more variability with the video and other drivers you pick.

Because you are on Pro and not Home:
Group Policy Editor -> Computer Configuration -> Administrative Templates -> Windows Components -> Configure Automatic Updates -> (set to disabled)

Quote:

If the status for this policy is set to Disabled, any updates that are available on Windows Update must be downloaded and installed manually. To do this, search for Windows Update using Start.
Reboot.

Keep in mind that when a system component bug or exploit is found, you won't get it patched. So use the machine for your DAW and that's it.

Additionally, when we do things like update the MIDI stack, you won't automatically get that, so you just need to be ok with that, or ok with doing a pile of manual updates later (which may involve a reinstall if you are too far behind).

Edit: You don't want to be an Insider here. Insiders get new OS builds every week or so, depending on the release you're on. You get the latest build on your PC by checking for updates. Note that an OEM license can't be transferred to another machine.

Manual downlaods:
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...load/windows10

Pete

ebulb 28th November 2019 11:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Psychlist1972 (Post 14350720)
Additionally, when we do things like update the MIDI stack

I was wondering what is there with midi these days that would need updating ?

I recall back in the late 90s I would often see midi improvements as part of OS updates but audio on computers was still developing back then and it made sense things would need improvements.. now 20 years later I would have thought that midi would be fully optimised and just a standard bit of code inside the OS that wouldn't need much work ?

when the stack gets updated what actually changes ? do the updates mean that midi being used inside a DAW (even just using VSTi) gets improved or is it more about interfacing with external hardware ?

knightfly 28th November 2019 11:47 PM

Pete, I apologized in the Win7 thread, sorry again -

As to networking, the MOTU hardware has a built-in browser that will let me run the software from a tablet over wifi, hoping to use that (instead of dusting off my Tranzport) - so that means my LAN + wifi would need to stay enabled.

I'm thinking to just install a physical rj45 switch (or maybe just keep my landline switched off, dratted scam calls already have me using a phone line switch AFTER the modem, could just wire that AHEAD of the modem's phone line input)

When I set updates to manual, I'm thinking to just check for new bugs/fixes maybe monthly when I'm doing the bills.

Any other pearls of wisdom please don't hesitate... Steve

Psychlist1972 29th November 2019 03:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ebulb (Post 14351269)
I was wondering what is there with midi these days that would need updating ?

I recall back in the late 90s I would often see midi improvements as part of OS updates but audio on computers was still developing back then and it made sense things would need improvements.. now 20 years later I would have thought that midi would be fully optimised and just a standard bit of code inside the OS that wouldn't need much work ?

when the stack gets updated what actually changes ? do the updates mean that midi being used inside a DAW (even just using VSTi) gets improved or is it more about interfacing with external hardware ?

Earlier in Windows 10, we added Bluetooth MIDI.

MIDI 2.0 is about to be voted on as a standard. That has some significant changes. No date yet on when it'll be in Windows, but it'll be there eventually.

Also, some requests include:
  • Control over MIDI port names
  • Better routing / filtering
  • Virtual and app->app MIDI
  • etc.

No promises on any of those, but we've been looking into a number of them.

Pete

Pictus 29th November 2019 03:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by knightfly (Post 14344255)
Base for the new DAW is a Dell XPS8930 (Costco version of the 8920 mostly) - it has onboard graphics PLUS the "dreaded" Nvidia add-on (GTX 1050Ti, 4 GB) - I'm aware of some problems with those cards and some drivers, and if necessary I'll replace it with a less problematic card.

This may help...
https://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answ...um-performance
https://i.imgur.com/W0z1DGx.png


Quote:

The Dell is running Win10 Pro on an Intel Core i7-7700, 3.6 GHz; I've been following the discussion on the "perfect daw version" for awhile now. Still need to do more homework on minimizing MicroSlop's interference/updating crap.
You may like the Windows Update Manager
https://forums.mydigitallife.net/thr...manager.77736/
https://i.imgur.com/vWy2V78.png


Some tweaks for the DAW machine:

1- Disable BIOS C-state
2- Set all CPU CORES to the same speed (If your CPU/motherboard permits)
3- Disable CORE parking https://www.coderbag.com/product/quickcpu
4- Set Windows Power Plan to ULTIMATE
https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/...dows-10-a.html
https://i.imgur.com/ZtzFxsu.png



Some stuff I use:

https://www.hwinfo.com/
https://www.binisoft.org/wfc.php
https://www.oo-software.com/en/shutup10
https://www.oo-software.com/en/ooappbuster

https://processhacker.sourceforge.io/
https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/task_scheduler_view.html
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sys...loads/autoruns


The best file manager:
https://www.ghisler.com/
https://doublecmd.sourceforge.io/ (FREE)


Lots and lots of Windows 10 stuff/information
https://forums.mydigitallife.net/forums/windows-10.54/


The best bootable USB with lots and lots of tools like Macrium Reflect
https://www.majorgeeks.com/files/det...ecs_winpe.html
Macrium Reflect is perfect for creating a System Image.

knightfly 29th November 2019 09:38 AM

Wow, pictus; thanks for that truckload of info; pretty sure I only recognized maybe a couple of those. Got more family stuff happening manana, but I'm pretty sure I'll be "burning the midnite oil" after that. Really appreciate it... Steve

ebulb 29th November 2019 01:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Psychlist1972 (Post 14351549)
Earlier in Windows 10, we added Bluetooth MIDI.

MIDI 2.0 is about to be voted on as a standard. That has some significant changes. No date yet on when it'll be in Windows, but it'll be there eventually.

Also, some requests include:
  • Control over MIDI port names
  • Better routing / filtering
  • Virtual and app->app MIDI
  • etc.

No promises on any of those, but we've been looking into a number of them.

Pete

ok cool.. I guess I just use midi the way I always have so you tend not to be aware of things like bluetooth midi until you need it.. 2.0 sounds interesting. it would make sense if it headed more towards a networking protocol and being able to use ethernet with switches and routers as standard instead of USB and DIN cables..

Psychlist1972 30th November 2019 05:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ebulb (Post 14352249)
ok cool.. I guess I just use midi the way I always have so you tend not to be aware of things like bluetooth midi until you need it.. 2.0 sounds interesting. it would make sense if it headed more towards a networking protocol and being able to use ethernet with switches and routers as standard instead of USB and DIN cables..

MIDI 2.0 is, at first, over USB. It's bi-directional. Higher resolution for controllers, faster transport, etc.

Ethernet could certainly be possible. Working group just needs to define that as a transport.

Pete