Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   Work In Progress / Advice Requested / Show and Tell / Artist Showcase / Mix-Offs (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/work-in-progress-advice-requested-show-and-tell-artist-showcase-mix-offs/)
-   -   Metal song needing critique (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/work-in-progress-advice-requested-show-and-tell-artist-showcase-mix-offs/1275609-metal-song-needing-critique.html)

fictivelifemedia 14th August 2019 08:33 PM

Metal song needing critique

So I’m pretty new to the recording world and I’ve neem trying my luck with recording and mixing. I’m not sure what else I need to do to get a tighter and more glued sound or I guess and overall “better” sound. Would someone be willing to listen to what I have and help me know where to go from here?

https://www.dropbox.com/s/u1fcm4kpqm...x%203.mp3?dl=0

Thanks in advance

Smithburg 17th August 2019 06:26 AM

Dude first of all that is righteous, very rocking, and the guitar tones and playing are awesome. And the whole thing is super tight, very well done.

The biggest thing to me is the drums sound a little too robotic, so they're not really gluing super well in that respect. Also, I don't listen to too much metal, so I could be totally wrong here, but the kick feels a little too clicky and out front. I know metal kicks are prominent and clicky but my ear is wanting it behind the guitars a little more.