Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   Newbie Audio Engineering + Production Question Zone (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/newbie-audio-engineering-production-question-zone/)
-   -   Superior drummer mixing troubles? (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/newbie-audio-engineering-production-question-zone/1275246-superior-drummer-mixing-troubles.html)

brodieskiddlz 11th August 2019 08:39 PM

Superior drummer mixing troubles?
 
Anyone had the experience with superior drummer 3 where your drums drown out your cymbals? I have my set configured so I only have one fader to control my 'Overheads" so maybe that contributes, but I often notice my cymbals being lost in the background.

The faders in the mixer can't come up anymore, the bus is raised nearly all the way. I've resorted to adjusted the gain slider in the drum set view. I've tried to remix the set and apply some gain staging procedures to it, but they always sendup lost. Or overpoweringly loud. which is worse.

Anyone have any weird experiences with SD3?

Jeff Hayat 11th August 2019 09:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by brodieskiddlz (Post 14143964)
The faders in the mixer can't come up anymore, the bus is raised nearly all the way....

The way you have it now, you might (?) be clipping.

Lower the faders in the mixer and lower the bus. You don't want to start with everything up all the way, or near to it.

Cheers.

CJ Mastering 11th August 2019 11:21 PM

Quote:

but I often notice my cymbals being lost in the background.

The faders in the mixer can't come up anymore,
If every drum is maxed out to ware you cannot raise it anymore, then the symbols will be lost.

brodieskiddlz 13th August 2019 09:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeff Hayat (Post 14144028)
The way you have it now, you might (?) be clipping.

Lower the faders in the mixer and lower the bus. You don't want to start with everything up all the way, or near to it.

Cheers.

Is there some way to monitor that? My individual channels on the mixing page show me quite far from the red. Some of the faders are very high. But the dB meter shows the signal faaarrr from clipping. I have a feeling this is why certain elements of my kit get lost in the mix.

ColdFrixion 13th August 2019 11:47 PM

You have the cymbals turned all the way up in Super Drummer 3's instrument view?

https://www.dropbox.com/s/1d7vblk2c4zcd9f/SD3.jpg?dl=1

brodieskiddlz 18th August 2019 06:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ColdFrixion (Post 14147747)
You have the cymbals turned all the way up in Super Drummer 3's instrument view?

https://www.dropbox.com/s/1d7vblk2c4zcd9f/SD3.jpg?dl=1

Sorry for the late reply, been out of state. But yes, in the instrument view, I click on the cymbal. Then on the right side, you have a horizontal slider. That slider is raised almost all the way on all the cymbals. The slider for every drum is sitting at unity, which is where they are by default when you load the samples. I raised the cymbal sliders until they sounded balanced against the drums.

From there, I went to the mixing view. Took all my faders to zero and started by raising my overheads. Brought them up to around -12dB. Then started adding in the drums. It sounds balanced, but very quickly the cymbals get buried under the drums. Especially once the instruments are added into the whole mix, then they really go away.

I figure the other tracks need some EQ to pull out some room for the high end, but even before the other instruments come in the drum mix is always either cymbals too quiet, or I turn the drums down, and the cymbals are too loud. I didn't have this problem with EZDrummer or Steven Slate Drums so I'm not really sure how to fix it.

brodieskiddlz 22nd August 2019 01:29 AM

bump ,anyone?

ColdFrixion 22nd August 2019 03:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by brodieskiddlz (Post 14161877)
bump ,anyone?

Have you tried turning everything but the cymbals down?

brodieskiddlz 22nd August 2019 06:01 PM

as in turning the cymbals volume down? i haven't tried that seeing as how they're already too quiet.

ColdFrixion 22nd August 2019 06:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by brodieskiddlz (Post 14162873)
as in turning the cymbals volume down? i haven't tried that seeing as how they're already too quiet.

No, turning everything except the cymbals down.

Jeff Hayat 22nd August 2019 06:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by brodieskiddlz (Post 14162873)
as in turning the cymbals volume down? i haven't tried that seeing as how they're already too quiet.

Can you do a vid capture? Using screen capture sw (google is your friend here). I think something is getting lost in translation both ways, and if we can see exactly what you are doing, someone might be able to give you a better response.

Cheers.