Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   Avid Pro Tools (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/avid-pro-tools/)
-   -   Protools resets itself ?! (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/avid-pro-tools/1273145-protools-resets-itself.html)

lionheart 23rd July 2019 11:32 AM

Protools resets itself ?!
 
Hi,

Ive noticed from time to time that Protools "resets". For example, recent projects are gone from the list, i have to re-organise plugins and setup default eq etc.

Its not a big deal, but confusing when you have to spend time on this on the start of a session. Im on Ultimate 2019,6.. But this has happened for many years with almost all the versions i have had.

Anyone have the same "issue" or know a quick fix ?

Thanx and happy summer :)

nukmusic 24th July 2019 05:27 AM

I've ran into the problem where my preferences got reset for whatever reason. It's weird and happened with 2018 and 2019 every now and then.

originalscottyg 8th August 2019 05:33 PM

Best thing to do would be to get a Pro Tools preference management utility like PT Prefs for Mac or Trasher for windows. Get you prefs set up the way you like them, then back them up. Then you can easily trash and restore everything with a couple of clicks. Of course, the recent projects won't come back, as this will only be as recent as when you backed up your prefs. But everything else will be restored.

jwh1192 9th August 2019 09:09 PM

did you guys find that you got some sort of Error Message before you found PT resetting itself ?? or did PT suddenly crash completely and then upon restart you find it reset ???