Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   All Things Technical (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/all-things-technical/)
-   -   CAD M179 in Mid-Side (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/all-things-technical/1272631-cad-m179-mid-side.html)

TakiJedenPan 18th July 2019 01:55 AM

CAD M179 in Mid-Side

I know it is an old (and cheap) microphone, but still excellent and I have had it for a long time and I would like to finally use its figure-of-eight mode. What would you advise as a SDC ‘Mid’ mic - I know, there are dozens of them, but also how would you mount the two together? I found two or three mounts for SDC pairs (Schoeps AMS22, Octava SM-MSR, maybe Shure A27M), but I don’t see any chance to have the heavy M179 and any SDC on one stand. And one stand is a condition, because it should be a minimalist solution for a concert situation, where as a musician, I have to set up this structure quickly and without risk, and after 10 minutes return to the stage and play with two or three other people. I’ll be grateful for your advice.

boojum 18th July 2019 02:52 AM

It's hard to say what to use with it for MS. Experimentation is the best way to see, or, buy another CAD M179. Buying another would guarantee they match. And they can also be used in other configurations for other assignments or for this one if you find a different array more pleasing.

elegentdrum 18th July 2019 03:01 AM

Use any mic you have has as the mid. I suggest a ribbon or Tube LDC to try at center first. You do not have to have a match of any kind, but I would tend not to use moving coils like a SM57. The one quality you want the same is a good room sound. MS- is mainly a room mic thing, not a close mic thing. Moving coil mic's tend not be sound as good past a few feet from the source.

If you want to use two mic's for stereo close up, better off with spaced pair or Blumlien.

JoeDeF 18th July 2019 05:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TakiJedenPan (Post 14101464)