Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   Geekslutz Forum (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/geekslutz-forum/)
-   -   Roland Go Keys Display Repair (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/geekslutz-forum/1242302-roland-go-keys-display-repair.html)

Florianinside 16th December 2018 02:12 PM

Roland Go Keys Display Repair
 
5 Attachment(s)
Hi there,
I was curious how it looks inside my Go Keys and so i opened it. Good news: Only type of screw. Bad news: Cables are self-destructing when opening the case :-/ The flat cable of the display is too short, so you can lift the top part only a few degrees. In this state you have to release display-cable, before you can lift the top completely. I didn’t know that, so I destroyed the cable. Luckily Roland Customer Service did sell me a new Display for around 30€. Replacement was easy. Please enjoy the pictures.
Overall, I love the Go Keys, but I think it is handicapped by Roland by purpose. Sound is weak in the lower notes, there is virtually no bass, like it is flattened with an EQ. Maybe Roland is afraid of being too good with this cheap model.

Best whishes,
Florian

walkerandera 9th January 2019 05:50 AM

It depends on model to model. Maybe it has been customized to give variations in its own category. Although it isn't higher in price, still its good to go. Rest its your choice :)

andrer 27th May 2020 11:54 PM

More instructions
 
Hi Florian,

do you need to lift the back of the case to disconnect the display cable?
Special tool to release the cable?

Thank you

RolandGoKeysnoob 24th June 2020 03:37 PM

hi i opened and cleaned my roland go keys and i was wondering if there is a sequence for the rubber membrane keys?and if there is can you help me with the sequence?i kinda messed it up while cleaning and reattaching the rubber membrane

hands2009 2nd July 2020 03:40 PM

hello there Go Keys Users :)

Did any of you ever experienced the control panel not responding?
Mine starts in (PIANO) - STAGEGRAND 01 - and it shows the Dot related to RECORD I think. And I cannot do anything else. Piano keys work fine but no other functions can be performed...seems like the control panel is not working.

Any assistance would be most welcome.