Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   Photo diaries of recording studio construction projects (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/photo-diaries-of-recording-studio-construction-projects/)
-   -   Semi-Pro Basement Studio Build (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/photo-diaries-of-recording-studio-construction-projects/1231833-semi-pro-basement-studio-build.html)

jakezap 24th September 2018 02:36 AM

Semi-Pro Basement Studio Build

6 Attachment(s)
Hello there fellow sluterz.

I’ve got a lot of great information from these studio-build forums in the past and now it’s time to share my own semi-pro studio build, and again, hopefully get some insights from everyone here.

A little about myself and the space I am building.

I work as a professional musician for a living. I play keyboards (primary instrument), bass and guitar. About 70% of my work is live performance with local/touring groups, theatres and things like that. The other 30% is studio stuff like recording (projects done in my studio for others or playing on others’ recordings/scoring/arranging/mixing/sound design etc.)

The studio, like I said, is going to be semi-pro. I’m willing to spend some money to make it a good room, but as I stated before, only around 30% of my work is done in the studio, so I’d like to keep the project costs below $10K if possible. I will be building this myself. I’m a fairly handy guy, plus, I have friends that work in construction and one that’s an electrician.

Onto the details of the space: