Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   Propellerhead Reason (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/propellerhead-reason/)
-   -   Reason 10 Upgrade with ProTools HD 2018 (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/propellerhead-reason/1212224-reason-10-upgrade-protools-hd-2018-a.html)

KJC82 19th April 2018 06:32 PM

Reason 10 Upgrade with ProTools HD 2018
 
Recently tried to upgrade from Reason 6.5 to Reason 10. Downloaded (as upgrade) successfully, but when I go to find in ProTools, it only sees the old version Reason and (6.5) not the new one (10). I have already tried deleting "installedAAXplugins" from PT prefs in libraries.

Is there more to upgrading from 6.5 to 10 than I am doing? Seems like an upgrade should be more intuitive than this..

Do I need to Uninstall 6.5? Is there a suggested way to do that?


Impossible to get Propellerhead on phone. And they respond to emails in brief after 5-7 day delays.. Any help appreciate!

--- Running Protools HD Native 2018 on OSX El Capitan

shortyedwards 20th April 2018 01:27 PM

Impossible to get Propellerhead on phone. And they respond to emails in brief after 5-7 day delays..

My experience with their support has been great. Of my two attempts to reach out, they have responded within 24 hours. I think that is pretty good support.

All the best.

StupidDream 25th April 2018 09:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KJC82 (Post 13268099)
Recently tried to upgrade from Reason 6.5 to Reason 10. Downloaded (as upgrade) successfully, but when I go to find in ProTools, it only sees the old version Reason and (6.5) not the new one (10). I have already tried deleting "installedAAXplugins" from PT prefs in libraries.

Is there more to upgrading from 6.5 to 10 than I am doing? Seems like an upgrade should be more intuitive than this..

Do I need to Uninstall 6.5? Is there a suggested way to do that?


Impossible to get Propellerhead on phone. And they respond to emails in brief after 5-7 day delays.. Any help appreciate!

--- Running Protools HD Native 2018 on OSX El Capitan

Hey! Stefan from Propellerhead here. We don't have phone support, which could explain things. Out email support team aims to get back within 2 business days.

But, to answer your question: we recommend that you uninstall Reason 6.5 and then install Reason 10. Let me know if you still experience any issues.

KJC82 25th April 2018 06:52 PM

Thanks Stefan!

Is there a 'proper' way to uninstall 6.5?

I have already downloaded 10 so should I uninstall that as well, and then reinstall after uninstalling 6.5 ?

KJC82 25th April 2018 07:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by StupidDream (Post 13278314)
Hey! Stefan from Propellerhead here. We don't have phone support, which could explain things. Out email support team aims to get back within 2 business days.

But, to answer your question: we recommend that you uninstall Reason 6.5 and then install Reason 10. Let me know if you still experience any issues.

Uninstalling 6.5 alone did not work. it still show up as an option in PT and I get a rewire popup but the app just doesn't open. Will try uninstalling both and reinstalling 10.. hopefully that works!