Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   Music Computers (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/music-computers/)
-   -   Using "Tranzport" on OSX SIERRA (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/music-computers/1163801-using-quot-tranzport-quot-osx-sierra.html)

VirtualPG 9th July 2017 12:32 AM

Using "Tranzport" on OSX SIERRA
 
Hey group,


Anyone know of a workaround to use the Frontier Designs "Tranzport" DAW controller on the latest Mac OSX Sierra?

Any tips or comments are welcome - thank you!



[email protected]

msmucr 9th July 2017 12:48 AM

I don't have this device, but it has very outdated driver.. As I've checked, latest official one is 1.53 for Snow Leopard from 2010.
There's certain chance, you'll manage to install the driver, if you disable two security features, which commonly blocking installation of old and unsigned drivers from El Capitan onwards - Gatekeeper and SIP.
It's not so straightforward and former one requires to launch Mac OS in recovery mode and run couple of commands at terminal.
How to Allow Apps from Anywhere in macOS Sierra Gatekeeper | OSXDaily
https://www.igeeksblog.com/how-to-di...ection-on-mac/

You might try that.. but I'm bit skeptic regarding that.
Besides of driver, there's also native DAW plugin and its setup, unless one will use it via virtual MIDI port.

Michal

Joe Porto 9th July 2017 01:37 AM

I tried to get it to work years ago with Mavericks. No go. I ended up replacing it with Logic Remote running on an old iPad.

burp182 9th July 2017 02:02 AM

Check this out:

TranzPort Drivers and Plug-in for Digital Performer

This made it work with 10.6.8 and beyond. Worth an inquiry.

fireberd 9th July 2017 11:41 AM

I know nothing about MAC OS, but does the MAC OS have an option to install in a compatibility mode, like Windows OS does? I have one (would be lost without it) and for Windows, Vista drivers are all that are available. I have it working in Windows 10 by installing in a Vista compatibility mode. Works perfect.

msmucr 9th July 2017 11:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fireberd (Post 12726650)
I know nothing about MAC OS, but does the MAC OS have an option to install in a compatibility mode, like Windows OS does?

No it doesn't have anything like that.. you need to do couple of tweaks (basically defeat enforcement of proper signing for the OS and allow 3rd party software installer to modify system directories) to pass through installation of older software and drivers, but it isn't really meant as operation for normal users.
Even if you manage to install it, it doesn't mean it will be working well.

That newer signed driver at Synclavier webpage looks like closest to what OP asked for.. but iPad control (depending on DAW.. it works well at Logic or PT for example) is probably more future-proof solution and allows to to much more than just transport control from some live room or recording booth via wireless network.

Michal

VirtualPG 10th July 2017 09:50 PM

Thank you everyone for weighing in on this problem. Prognosis is not great, alas - but hey, what can you do? So much planned and unplanned obsolescence out there, it's frustrating ...



jr

fireberd 11th July 2017 11:43 AM

I tried the iPad control surface program for Sonar. It didn't (at the time I tried it) have all the functions that the Tranzport has (including a remote foot control punch in). Also, required the DAW PC to be connected to the router so it could access it. I disconnect my PC from the Internet when doing any DAW work (to eliminate one potential as I've had dropouts in the past when on-line) and going off line there is no connection to the iPad or control program.

msmucr 11th July 2017 12:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fireberd (Post 12730351)
I tried the iPad control surface program for Sonar. It didn't (at the time I tried it) have all the functions that the Tranzport has (including a remote foot control punch in).

Support of remote control from iPad certainly differs from DAW to DAW..
Sonar is quite irrelevant for OP though, as he's apparently on Mac.

PT has their Eucon remote, which is great IMO
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxuN2BFYAgM

Logic iPad Remote is also very comprehensive and allows even control of individual virtual instruments and plugins.. besides transport control, mixing etc.


Quote:

Also, required the DAW PC to be connected to the router so it could access it. I disconnect my PC from the Internet when doing any DAW work (to eliminate one potential as I've had dropouts in the past when on-line) and going off line there is no connection to the iPad or control program.
Naturally, you need to have network connection between iPad and DAW computer.. However again, crappy wired NIC fighting with low latency performance, is not typical problem at OS X, even at Windows setups, it's not an issue, when you have NIC with good drivers and defeat unnecessary network services.

Finally, access to local LAN/WiFi doesn't equal access to the internet..
If you (for whatever reason) don't want internet at DAW, but still retain access to local network devices.. it's just matter of setup.
Easiest thing you can do, is to assign DAW computer manual IP address and mask, but don't enter any default gateway (this is typically IP address of your router). If you would like to be more thorough, it's typically possible to set some access lists at router, where you can specify, which computer can gain access outside of your network.

Michal

fireberd 11th July 2017 01:20 PM

I'm happy with what I currently have, the Frontier Tranzport wireless, and a Behringer X-Touch. If at some point the Tranzport dies then I'll consider some other wireless option. Hopefully by that time whatever controller program there is will have more features/compatibility with Sonar. Maybe Windows OS will also be at a point where having an "on line" link will not be an issue.

I'm a Pedal Steel Guitar player and when recording with the steel I don't have access to the X-Touch or the PC. Thus the Tranzport is the ideal answer, for me.

msmucr 11th July 2017 01:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fireberd (Post 12730458)
...
I'm a Pedal Steel Guitar player and when recording with the steel I don't have access to the X-Touch or the PC. Thus the Tranzport is the ideal answer, for me.

Well that makes lot of sense. Still even with mentioned iPads, I think, there is place on the market for something akin Tranzport and there are certainly users, who will appreciate tactile controls of single purpose device.

Too bad, Frontier Design seems to be dead.. and this is primary issue with those controllers. They had very well designed products IMO (I still have their Alphatrack).

Michal

markalex 15th September 2017 04:26 AM

The Synclavier drivers revived both my Alphatrack AND Tranzport in El Cap. I'd like to try Sierra, but a bit gun shy. Any luck out there?

dougb415 15th September 2017 01:08 PM

Where would someone get these Synclavier drivers? I'd love to be able to use my Tranzport again.

richhickey 16th September 2017 04:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by burp182 (Post 12726236)
Check this out:

TranzPort Drivers and Plug-in for Digital Performer

This made it work with 10.6.8 and beyond. Worth an inquiry.

This driver is working well for me on OS X Sierra.

Dewdman42 17th September 2017 12:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dougb415 (Post 12849922)
Where would someone get these Synclavier drivers? I'd love to be able to use my Tranzport again.

They are available for purchase from the link provided above. Note that this update was done by one of the original engineers at Frontier, who is no longer in business. He took some of his own time to update the support for 64bit on MOTU DP. As it turns out, the installer installs everything in the right way that it will supposedly work with some other DAW's, I know a guy on the logic forum that was able to get it working with Logic using this update.

The unfortunate news, its not free. But should get the tranzport working again, I haven't tried it on sierra yet either though.

dougb415 17th September 2017 08:12 PM

$35 for a driver, ouch! However, I really do miss using my Tranzport. My iPad works fine as a Logic remote, but the Tranzport just seems more solid. I might just go ahead with this, I've been trying to sell my Tranzport but nobody is interested.

kafka 29th October 2017 09:24 PM

I didn't pay anything for the driver. I downloaded it from http://www.frontierdesign.com/downlo...OS_X_1_4_3.zip . Installer can't find the components directly under Sierra, so you have to install them individually. Just browse to Tranzport Installer/Pieces, and click on each of the pkg files one by one. Works great as an HUI device under Protools 12.8.2.

oortone 27th November 2017 08:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by richhickey (Post 12852006)
This driver is working well for me on OS X Sierra.

I also purchased the driver and it it seems to work as it should in Sierra. I have tested with Logic 10.3.1 and it was added automatically and also I use Avid Artist Mix/Eucon and there are no conflict as far as I can tell.

oortone 27th November 2017 08:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kafka (Post 12930670)
I didn't pay anything for the driver. I downloaded it from http://www.frontierdesign.com/downlo...OS_X_1_4_3.zip . Installer can't find the components directly under Sierra, so you have to install them individually. Just browse to Tranzport Installer/Pieces, and click on each of the pkg files one by one. Works great as an HUI device under Protools 12.8.2.

That's great advice, too bad I didn't see it until now. But Synclavier is cool so I guess I feel ok supporting them too.
:synth:

kaoss 4th December 2017 06:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kafka (Post 12930670)
I didn't pay anything for the driver. I downloaded it from http://www.frontierdesign.com/downlo...OS_X_1_4_3.zip . Installer can't find the components directly under Sierra, so you have to install them individually. Just browse to Tranzport Installer/Pieces, and click on each of the pkg files one by one. Works great as an HUI device under Protools 12.8.2.

worked well, thanks for the advice! kfhkh

Macky 4th December 2017 02:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kafka (Post 12930670)
I didn't pay anything for the driver. I downloaded it from http://www.frontierdesign.com/downlo...OS_X_1_4_3.zip . Installer can't find the components directly under Sierra, so you have to install them individually. Just browse to Tranzport Installer/Pieces, and click on each of the pkg files one by one. Works great as an HUI device under Protools 12.8.2.

Wow! this is great news.
Obviously you have it working, but i,m curious as its dated v0 2010-10-08
and i tried that driver a couple of years ago with no luck.This was on Mac Mountain lion or Mavericks i don't recall which one.
Either way i,m very happy and thanks for the heads up, like i say i,m just curious. May be it was working all along but i didn't know about the install workaround.

gpaulino 6th February 2018 01:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dewdman42 (Post 12852772)
They are available for purchase from the link provided above. Note that this update was done by one of the original engineers at Frontier, who is no longer in business. He took some of his own time to update the support for 64bit on MOTU DP. As it turns out, the installer installs everything in the right way that it will supposedly work with some other DAW's, I know a guy on the logic forum that was able to get it working with Logic using this update.

The unfortunate news, its not free. But should get the tranzport working again, I haven't tried it on sierra yet either though.

Hi everyone,

I have learned about these drivers here, purchased them, downloaded and installed on OSX High Sierra. My Mac freezes on restart and I have to reinstall OSX from scratch. Anyone had this experience? Is there a workaround?

Thanks

Joe Porto 7th February 2018 04:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gpaulino (Post 13123661)
Hi everyone,

I have learned about these drivers here, purchased them, downloaded and installed on OSX High Sierra. My Mac freezes on restart and I have to reinstall OSX from scratch. Anyone had this experience? Is there a workaround?

Thanks

Can't tell you how to get the drivers working, but if you start your Mac while holding the SHIFT key down, you can boot in "safe mode" with no drivers loaded, then remove the driver that is causing the freeze.

Hanz 12th February 2018 10:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kafka (Post 12930670)
I didn't pay anything for the driver. I downloaded it from http://www.frontierdesign.com/downlo...OS_X_1_4_3.zip . Installer can't find the components directly under Sierra, so you have to install them individually. Just browse to Tranzport Installer/Pieces, and click on each of the pkg files one by one. Works great as an HUI device under Protools 12.8.2.

Confirming this method worked just fine (in my case, on a Hackintosh running MacOS High Sierra 10.13.3).
Surprisingly even with Ableton Live 10. Nothing else needed, just the basic OSX 1.4.3 package.

baketoy 17th May 2018 11:20 PM

Hanz (or Kafka or anyone)

I am desperately trying to get my tranzport and alpha track back (had to upgrade to High Sierra). I tried the method described here but during install my iMac says

"The installation failed. The installer could not install the software. because there was no software found to install"


I don't know how to "browse to Transport Installer/pieces to click on files as Kafka says. can anyone help?

thank you!

dan (baketoy)

baketoy 18th May 2018 12:22 AM

disregard my last post pls. I bought the sinclavier drivers which BTW seem to work well in Ableton 9 on high sierra.

Tombolino 15th January 2019 07:40 PM

Hi!

Im also trying to use my old Tranzport on OSX SIERRA.

Has anyone been able to do the install workaround Kafka suggested here? (thus nt having to buy driver from Synclavier)

Kafka said:
"Installer can't find the components directly under Sierra. Just browse to Tranzport Installer/Pieces, and click on each of the pkg files one by one." ------what steps specifically does this involve? Its a bit vague, couldnt figure out what to do....

I downloaded the zip he mentioned (one of the ones on the Frontier site) and ran thru the Install process; it goes normally all the way through the Install but then at the end it says: "The Installer could not find the software". Ive tried this several times, same result. Note, I DIDNT have any issues to get around to authorize the download that the Mac initially blocks; that is easily solved by going into my security settings.

Thanks in advance for your suggestions!

Seb

iLex 15th January 2019 07:53 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Tombolino (Post 13741258)
Hi!

Im also trying to use my old Tranzport on OSX SIERRA.

Has anyone been able to do the install workaround Kafka suggested here? (thus nt having to buy driver from Synclavier)

Kafka said:
"Installer can't find the components directly under Sierra. Just browse to Tranzport Installer/Pieces, and click on each of the pkg files one by one." ------what steps specifically does this involve? Its a bit vague, couldnt figure out what to do....

I downloaded the zip he mentioned (one of the ones on the Frontier site) and ran thru the Install process; it goes normally all the way through the Install but then at the end it says: "The Installer could not find the software". Ive tried this several times, same result. Note, I DIDNT have any issues to get around to authorize the download that the Mac initially blocks; that is easily solved by going into my security settings.

Thanks in advance for your suggestions!

Seb

I don't know the software/hardware and haven't actually tried installing it, BUT, I did find what Kafka meant:
If you scroll down in the disc image window you will see a folder named 'pieces' which has a few separate .pkg files (see screenshot).

Hope this helps.

Cheers, Alex