Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   So Much Gear, So Little Time (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/so-much-gear-so-little-time/)
-   -   TDM vs Native questions (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/so-much-gear-so-little-time/107740-tdm-vs-native-questions.html)

radu.ionescu 5th February 2007 12:00 AM

TDM vs Native questions
 
ok guys i'm new here and maybe my guestions have been discussed here before so i appologie if thats the case. anyway here it goes:

i'd like to know if theres any sound quality difference between the TDM and the Native formats? ok that's not all, here goes the rest to be precise and to make it clear, it's about the same plugin, say for exemple a Waves plugin. do they behave (sound) the same in the 2 formats? why do TDM plug (the same) cost twice as much as the native one ? i have in mind the Waves but also MetricHalo ChannelStrip and some others.. Do the developpers have to pay more (to Digi) to have the privilege of coding for TDM?

thanks!

mhartman 5th February 2007 12:02 AM

I've seen some "blind test" comparisons on here where people feel that they sound different. I forget what people liked more, but, based on the responses, people seemed to think that there was a difference.

Mike

jdjustice 5th February 2007 12:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by radu.ionescu (Post 1111617)
i'd like to know if theres any sound quality difference between the TDM and the Native formats? ok that's not all, here goes the rest to be precise and to make it clear, it's about the same plugin, say for exemple a Waves plugin. do they behave (sound) the same in the 2 formats? why do TDM plug (the same) cost twice as much as the native one ? i have in mind the Waves but also MetricHalo ChannelStrip and some others.. Do the developpers have to pay more (to Digi) to have the privilege of coding for TDM?

thanks!


there should be *no* difference in sound quality between native and TDM versions of the same plugin.
i don't know the real reason that the TDM plugs cost twice as much, but i imagine it has something to do with the fact that TDM plugins run on Digi PCI DSP cards and save system resources.
you are paying for that benefit i imagine.
it is possible that Digi does charge more for the right to code for their HD / Accel systems; i don't know for sure.


cheers.
~j.d.

nativeaudio 5th February 2007 09:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by radu.ionescu (Post 1111617)
i'd like to know if theres any sound quality difference between the TDM and the Native formats?

They sound a little different from each other - the difference is extremely small - but not better or worse.

Quote:

why do TDM plug (the same) cost twice as much as the native one ?
I'll have to guess here, but maybe becuase they think that people who can afford a TDM-rig also can pay more for a plug-in?