Gearslutz

Gearslutz (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/)
-   Low End Theory (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/low-end-theory/)
-   -   Ugh...4x12 recording frustration! (https://www.gearslutz.com/board/low-end-theory/107459-ugh-4x12-recording-frustration.html)

MadSkillzMan 3rd February 2007 02:17 AM

Ugh...4x12 recording frustration!

Hey guys

Im here, chasing after the never ever ending how to record distortion guitar ...I'm a bit of a newb, so i really appreciate any advice..

Ive tried a couple different mics, SM58ABeta, EV MC300, and MXL2001.

My complaint with the dynamic mic's, is theyre WAY to middy. ESPECIALLY the shure. I thought i had this battle won. I tracked in on my tascam dp01. Sounded good on my M-Audio monitors

Dropped the tracks into logic, all went to hell! Usually this prog sweetens things for me..yuck not this time! Guitars sounded so gritty and dull

The MXL2001, i cant seem to figure out. No matter how hard i try, i get a ridiculous amount of ambient reverb. With the mic right there in the grill, it still sounds pleanty distant.

Im using a carvin X100b. WAS using a boss Gl100 rackmount for distortion/overdrive.. Ive tried the advice of turning down the gain, and this helped dramatically

I think part of my problem lies between the tascam and logic. Im transfering the files via USB, but the instant they land on my G5, even through the same monitors, YUCK. Its not on the whole mix though, just the guitars. Although i noticed when the MXL was heard on the computer, it sounded less roomy, which was fine with me.

Thanks in advance guys.

tINY 3rd February 2007 02:45 AM

You are doing something very wrong if the sound changes dramatically when you digitally transfer files.

I assume that when you say "same monitors" that you mean same monitors in the same place in the same room.

-tINY

davenutz 3rd February 2007 05:12 AM