The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Building a pc for fl studio maschine and studio one
Old 22nd October 2013
Gear Maniac

Building a pc for fl studio maschine and studio one

Im looking to build my first pc and att first I was going to just buy a dell gaming pc and a mac mini but I think it would be cheaper to just build one for production and recording and mixing.

This is what ill be running:

Production
FL studio 11
Maschine
Komplete 9 or korg kross 61
Nexus
Omnisphere
Sklenth
And a couple of older vsts but these are my resource hogs lol

Recording
Studio one 2.6
Izotope ozone 5
Waves ren bundle
Izotope nectar and allow
Sound toys filter

Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 (upgrading to modded echo audiofire 12 next year)

Now this is my first build I was using a Toshiba laptop for my production (intel dual core 2.2gb 3gb ram with windows 7 home) & a dell inspiron (core duo 1.8gb 2gb with windows xp sp3) and I cant really dig in without a overload and dropouts.

Any body know what I should look at? I can spend about 400-600 on the build not including hard drives monitors and dvd drives..

Sent from my SGH-T989
Old 22nd October 2013
Gear Maniac

you wont find any developers of software testing their product on home brews......and from what my friends have experienced with homebrews builds and lack luster performance, compared to almost stock units....honestly...its not worth the risk and headaches....just sayin but ...i would buy the dell platform that is a known entity...
Old 22nd October 2013
Gear Maniac

I really dont want to use windows 8 to much of a ram hog just to run the os I perfer 7 and a basic dell inspiron is better for production and recording than a built amd 8core at the same price point?

Sent from my SGH-T989
Old 22nd October 2013
Lives for gear
^I think it's pretty bad advice to grab a store-bought unit lol.