The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Pro Tools to Studio One Transition?
Old 23rd June 2019
Lives for gear

Pro Tools to Studio One Transition?

I've been a Pro Tools user for 15 years, and have a lot of recording console/analog workflow built in to me, so Pro Tools has always made sense to me as my primary DAW. I'm not a studio but I do some freelance work with rock bands and my own bands, so being able to playlist and edit real drums/etc efficiently is part of my typical use. All normal mixing expectations, automation, etc...part of that as well. I also compose for film, so I need video and timecode facility. I don't need to edit video, generally I'm just dropping in a whole video file and syncing to timecode, then working from there. Creating templates, as well. I don't need crazy MIDI or score functionality, generally basic MIDI is pretty adequate I think?

Not surprisingly I also have hundreds if not thousands of Pro Tools sessions from this time, some of which may be worth going back to at some point. I also have a collaborator that is heavily invested in writing with Pro Tools, so I'll be taking his sessions from time to time.

Now I'm looking to move away from the Pro Tools business model. I'm Mac based currently, but I am not confident that I will stay with Apple forever either, which is why I'm not sure if I want to try moving to Logic.

Am I barking up the right tree, or should I be looking at Cubase, or something else? I am fast with Pro Tools, so I would really like to be fast in whatever my next DAW is.
Old 23rd June 2019
They killed the thread on DUC when Presonus did the crossgrade thing, and it got posted over there, but someone posted a series of videos by the protoolsexpert/Studio1expert guys on the differences. I watched them, and they weren't too bad.