The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Apple Approved Aggregators - Mastered for iTunes and Other Features
Old 25th March 2015
Gear Maniac

Question Apple Approved Aggregators - Mastered for iTunes and Other Features

I'm gearing up for a future first album release and I want to make sure I do it the right way the first time around. I've been using CD Baby to digitally distribute all of our music and I recently noticed that on iTunes we don't have an artist image. I decided to look into it and ended up wondering if some of the other features that some top artists have access to on iTunes such as the "Mastered for iTunes" badge, the ability to make certain songs available from a pre-order before the album goes live, digital booklets, etc. are something that I could possibly gain access to despite the fact that I'm an independent musician.

In my research I stumbled upon this list of "Apple Approved Aggregators" which also lists the features available for each one: iTunes Music Aggregators List

I figured there might be a few people who didn't know these features were accessible to independent artists (it's new to me) and others that could offer a bit of insight into some of the confusing things and I was hoping we could have a discussion about this and hopefully learn a few things.

First of all I'm assuming in order to use most of these features you're going to have to reach out to the digital distributor individually because CD Baby doesn't offer any of these features from their dashboard.