The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Building ambience
Old 17th October 2013
Here for the gear

Building ambience

Hi,

And hello you all! I was offered to do some sound work for short film but I’m not sure if I qualify as I’m coming from the theatre field and I’m not familiar with the conventions in film.

The story is taking a place in the middle of frozen lake somewhere in northern Russia. There’s nothing around except wind and snow. I’m mostly concerned of creating wide and eerie ambience with so little sounds around. The other location is above the (supposedly) big city.

What is the general approach in creating wide cinematic ambience? Is it layering individual sounds together and processing them to one coherent track? Or should I try to make a perfect stereo recording from the location and use it as such?

Thank you for any help.
Old 17th October 2013
Gear Maniac

I'm no expert,but here goes:
I do alot of sound design for small time stuff.
Usually,I send the outside amb hard to the room verb and lowering the volume of the amb itself.
I tend to mix at least 4 types of amb sounds,mixed to my liking.
Always using location recordings found in the neck/shotgun mics as ambs as these are the most important for the whole 'feel' of the scene.
Also,adding some random spot fx like dog barks,car pass by or whatever you might be hearing if you were where the film was shot.
Old 17th October 2013
Lives for gear