The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Is there anything that can be done about distorted location dialogue?
Old 9th June 2011
Here for the gear

Is there anything that can be done about distorted location dialogue?

Hey everyone (first post)!

So, I'm doing sound design for the first time on a short that my friend made recently. When I watched the dailys I noticed every track from day two of shooting was terribly distorted. I'm very new to the game and I was wondering if there was any way I could fix this and avoid him having to reshoot.

Thanks
Old 9th June 2011
Lives for gear

Izotope RX can help with this by using its declip module, but no miracles for "terrible" material expected

Matti
Old 9th June 2011
Lives for gear

You can sometimes chip away at it with apps designed for vinyl record restoration.

phil p
Old 9th June 2011
Lives for gear

it may somewhat depend upon what kind of distortion it is, i.e., what was causing it.. but if it's completely ****ed up there are a couple options—assuming you have multiple takes, you can go through and make a frankenstein edit by hand, utilizing the snippets from different takes that are the cleanest. this is a nightmare to do and time-intensive, but i've done it before and sometimes it came down to splicing individual words from multiple takes together into one edit. not fun.

better option is just to get everyone to come to the studio and have them redo the dialogue while they watch their performance and just get it sync'd as best you can. its also time consuming but you wouldn't have to actually reshoot the scenes.

just be adamant that they have someone out there on location to check the audio—adjust the gain in the mic preamps properly and assure there's no wind noise in the current take, etc. doing this on location will save everyone massive amounts of time and headaches later on.