The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Have a go at making my recording CINEMATIC Summing Mixers
Old 12th September 2007
Gear Nut

Have a go at making my recording CINEMATIC

I have a cracker for all you budding post production-ists.

I'm new to this game so please bare with me as I try to maintain some sort of standard with my terminology.

OK...Let me set the stage as it were.....

I was asked to "record sound" for a short film called "The Revenge of the Jazz Hoody" in which there are various battles between old/new school jazzers. Its a comedy by the way.

The majority of the sound during the film will be narration and music which I have no hand in.

On the day of the shoot I was drafted in I discovered that the main scene I would be recording was one which involved the death of a Banjo (in the film it is one of the main rules of the old school jazz club....NO BANJO's!) by way of explosion caused by a fire breather igniting a fuse that set of some fire works. I know....classic.

As I had taken time off work for this project I thought it would be a good idea.....here it comes....to record the event with as many mics I could get my hands on.

This included:

1. Senheiser 416 short gun boom mic about 6 foot over explosion
2. AT 4050 in omni on a stand for low/ambience frequencies abot 10-12 foot from the explosion
3. Two Senheiser omni Radio mics on either side of the fire breathing/explosion mounted on equidistant walls about 5 foot from the explosion

Excessive I know but hey...that’s all I had to do....and I really didn’t get in the way....there was plenty of time.....it was an indi film right!

I want to make this explosion CINEMATIC and I want to utilise the differing recordings to highlight the differing qualities of the 2 main sounds i.e. the Whoomp like sound of the fire breathing and the explosion itself.