The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Monitoring using 360 video
Old 31st July 2020
Monitoring using 360 video

Fellow Gearslutz members,

I'm currently studying at UWL in London (Record Production MA), albeit I'm obviously not actually physically attending classes, or even in the country anymore for that matter.

For my final project I'm looking to use 360 video for monitoring purposes. By that I mean playing along to a VR video of me playing when overdubbing additional layers.

This requires getting GoPro 360 footage to play in time on/through the VR spectacles whilst Pro Tools is playing (the footage will be imported into Pro Tools).

So far (when using regular footage) I have achieved this by connecting an external monitor to my Mac, and importing the video into Pro Tools, firstly syncing it to the audio in the session in Premiere, so it starts at the same point on the timeline.)

I do not require spatial immersive sound when overdubbing, and won't even be wearing headphones, as I will reamp all previous takes in the same space through amps and drum trigger hammers.

Here are links that explains the basic ideas in case anyone is interested or requires more details.

https://youtu.be/HpZErq5dKC8

https://www.dropbox.com/s/gxlbo1w1zx...35376.pdf?dl=0

https://1drv.ms/v/s!ArNraO7sMBE3g2_PkRIsyMxz9p4G

My question is, has anyone got any experience with trying something similar? I know most people probably only use and/or import 360 visuals when doing post production, so it's visible when mixing immersive sound. But perhaps someone has thought of this before (probably)...?

My current ideas are:

- Finding a way of syncing a video player with Pro Tools through time code, in this way not requiring the video engine in Pro Tools to operate