The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Dialogue Editing - Pro Tools Smart Tools vs Single Edit Tool
Old 3rd June 2020
Here for the gear
Dialogue Editing - Pro Tools Smart Tools vs Single Edit Tool

Dear Colleagues,

I really wanted to make like a poll so everybody can vote but this is my first thread so I am new to this. I am working in the industry since 2014 but I have always been used to work with the smart tools in Pro Tools.

I saw lots of veterans and seasoned dialogue and sfx editor that are actually using single edit tools and switching them every time like selector tool and grabber tool when editing... I have never learnt this way maybe because I am young and smart tools only came with later version of pro tools.

I am talking to people editing in post production what do you prefer: smart tools or single edit tool and what do you think are the advantages of one or another?

Thanks!

Cheers!
Old 3rd June 2020
Gear Maniac

I think a lot of it is personal preference and what you find quickest.

I know loads of talented engineers who use the tools individually and are damn quick at it too, but I personally use the smart tool as I find it's quicker for me.
Old 3rd June 2020
Lives for gear

I guess I can count myself as a veteran as I learned Pro tools when the smart Tool didn't exist. ( I think it was v4) Never got used to it...
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Smart Tool nearly 100% of the time here. I'm a fairly recent convert, committing to PT as my primary DAW at version 10.
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear
Individual tools mapped to mouse buttons.
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by nucelar View Post
I guess I can count myself as a veteran as I learned Pro tools when the smart Tool didn't exist. ( I think it was v4) Never got used to it...