The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Pro Tools Ultimate/Sync HD/Blackmagic video issues
Old 7th October 2019
Pro Tools Ultimate/Sync HD/Blackmagic video issues

Hey everyone,

I am relatively new to the world of video tech, and am having some slightly peculiar issues on my Pro Tools HDX system. I am running it with a Sync HD - currently it is clocked to LTC and set to the master in Pro Tools sessions. It is also tied in with loop sync to my Avid Omni. Video is playing back via a Blackmagic Intensity PCIe card (not the most recent 4k version, but essentially the same layout).

A couple of things I'm experiencing:

- Online video (both Safari and Chrome) and often video files that are launched in Quicktime (work in progress stuff, etc) don't playback at the correct speed. They zoom through in a matter of seconds regardless of the video length.

- Sound to frame sync still seems like a bit of an issue in Pro Tools. It is a little bit sloppy, changing between plays.

Any idea on what might be going on? Jamming to LTC was a quick roll of the dice on my behalf to perhaps sort out the issues in Quicktime/Safari/Chrome/OSX. Unfortunately the Intensity PCIe card is pretty simple, and doesn't have LTC or Reference I/O at all. Could it be a buggy Blackmagic driver that is causing the issues in OSX?

As far as obtaining stable sync, my brother is mailing me a spare Blackmagic Decklink Extreme card to try which will allow me to jam the whole system together in a number of ways (word clock, LTC, Ref video, etc). Is grabbing a Tri-level sync generator the best way to go? Or will splitting the SDI output of the Blackmagic card and feeding it to the Sync HD's video reference input offer similar sync stability?

All this video stuff is a new world to me, and it is a wee bit daunting so if you have any tips that would be terrific. The end game is a system that is frame accurate for synchronising sound effects, foley and dialogue.
Old 7th October 2019
Lives for gear