The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Infrastructure for a post facility...What am I missing? Noise Reduction & Restoration Plugins
Old 6 days ago
Gear Maniac

Infrastructure for a post facility...What am I missing?

Howdy,
I've started doing post work as a side project and it is going great. So great in fact that I really need to up my game and turn things from a side hustle into a proper facility.

I am by no means an audio newbie...been using Protools daily for 20 years in a professional capacity (Radio, music, live sound etc). Post however is new territory for me.

I've got the basics down, Protools HD rig, controller, Monitoring, good mics etc...

HUGE SFX/Foley Library
Izotope NR
A zillion mixing plugs
Vocalign
A simple, but effective backup/redundancy system.

I'm doing OK but I am sure there are some huge gaps in this arsenal.

What is missing? What Industry standard tools do I need to invest in?
Studio Connect?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old 6 days ago
Cappuccino machine...
Old 6 days ago
Gear Maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven1145 View Post
Cappuccino machine...
Ha! Actually that was the first thing I bought!
Old 6 days ago
Gear Nut

Howdy,

In addition to the cappuccino machine, if you don't already have the following, I'd look into getting:

Hardware:
Video playback card (the most commonly used ones are made by Blackmagic and AJA)
Sync HD (together with above will ensure frame accurate playback and scrub)
A decent monitor/TV/projector to play back video
Microphones that match what is commonly used in production (e.g. lavs, shotguns)

Software:
Sfx database software (e.g. SoundMiner/BaseHead)
Conforming software (e.g. EdiLoad/Titan/Conformalizer)

Plugins:
Loudness meter (e.g. Nugen VisLM but there are plenty of options)
True peak limiter (again plenty of options, and you might already have Avid's Pro Limiter)