The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Reverb from music stems 4.0 in the central channel Reverb & Delay Plugins
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Head

Reverb from music stems 4.0 in the central channel

Hello! I studied all the possible topics in this section, but still have not received an answer.

I mix my own movie with surround sound. It will be shown in the cinema. I studied the study materials, which says that it is better not to use the central channel for music.

In every popular movie I hear music in the central channel (in some cases during the dialogue). But very quiet. And it seems I love it when it sounds like that.

I understand that the central channel is used by me for dialogue and foley. But I am afraid that when watching a movie theater it will appear a big hole if the music does not sound in the central channel.

I am also a composer in my film. And I will mix the stereo stems in 4.0.

My question is: Can I just add reverb to the presence of music in the center channel? I would not send a clarinet or oboe tough in the center. I have MX bus 5.1. Perhaps from there I could add reverberation through the altiverb to the center channel? I appreciate any of your advice!
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vsevolod777 View Post
Hello! I studied all the possible topics in this section, but still have not received an answer.

I mix my own movie with surround sound. It will be shown in the cinema. I studied the study materials, which says that it is better not to use the central channel for music.

In every popular movie I hear music in the central channel (in some cases during the dialogue). But very quiet. And it seems I love it when it sounds like that.