The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Best way to capture foley sound from a distance?
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Red face Best way to capture foley sound from a distance?

Hi...

I'll soon be attempting to record various sound effects for a small film I'm working on... I'm completely new to this process and I had a very basic question..

If my actor is (for example) 15-20 feet away from the camera walking through leaves, would I record the audio from 15-20 feet away as well or would I simply capture that audio much closer and then just bring the volume down in the mix?

I guess another way of asking this would be -- how would I record the sounds of walking through leaves up close and then make it sound further away in post?

Any advice appreciated!

T
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear
If you don't have a well treated and soundproof foley studio. then you want to record the sfx close. Otherwise you'll be faced with trying to match bg noise and verb with the dialog.

Assuming normal dialog recording: capture the foley close and at a good volume for your recorder. Edit it in place as full-volume, clean sound. Lower the level and add appropriate (mono) verb when you mix, and at the same time tweak the eq if it's needed for the action to match. If there's no talking at that moment, fill under the foley with roomtone that matches dialog.
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Head
If possible record (fairly close) outside in the open air.
If there is dialog you may want foley sounds to match the presence of the dialog.

You may need a gentle high pass to make foley less intrusive to match more distant action.
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Rose View Post
If there's no talking at that moment, fill under the foley with roomtone that matches dialog.