The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
How much work to put into low budget instructional videos/screencasts? Dynamic Microphones
Old 12th August 2018
Here for the gear

How much work to put into low budget instructional videos/screencasts?

I hope this is the right forum for this type of questions. I'm new to gearslutz. I did audio production in college, but I don't have much experience at all. I believe I understand most of the basic concepts, but I don't know too much about how things are done in the real world.

So, I'm starting to do edits for low budget instructional videos. Basically the objective is to get reasonable quality (say, comparable to those on sites like Lynda.com, e.g., https://www.lynda.com/Finance-Accoun.../547954-4.html) without too much effort.

The recordings are done in an typical office environment with an SM57, with a few absorption panels in the room but no real isolation/other treatment. I could give some suggestions on the recording end if needed, but given the location and budget, there isn't too much room for change.

Here are the unprocessed file and what I produced so far. Basically I'm slapping on a few plugins (gate, de-esser, compression, a little EQ, a bit of auto volume, and de-noise, etc.), and do loudness at the end. But I'm not really doing any fixes manually. I'm thinking that I should probably manually remove breaths that are too prominent, but nothing beyond that, given time constraints and the lengths of these videos (hours long series).

I'm hoping for some suggestions on the amount and kind of work put into this. Any issues you can hear that still need fixing? Does it sound reasonably good for the purpose (something like Lynda.com)?