The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Tips using Izotope RX2 - umpredictable noises
Old 13th March 2018
Here for the gear

Tips using Izotope RX2 - umpredictable noises

Hello !
I'm new with Izotope RX2 - I've got the software for not long (rental) and I would need advice to get rid of some accidental noise. The recording consists of a modern classical music concert and the noise are very short : mostly page turns, foot thumping on the floor, clicks from a music stand that was hit, etc. The annoying noises occur mainly in silent parts.

RX Users, what tools would you instinctly use ? Noise removal ? spectral repair ? I would love to spend hours learning this software, but time is against me this time, and help would be greatly appreciated !

thanks in advance.
Old 13th March 2018
Lives for gear

Version two? Rental? It's 2018, so I disapprove of that.

I would get a later version and use Spectral Repair for most of it probably, given that it's classical. Possibly a de-clicker at times, but I'm guessing that might be difficult.

Honestly, being new to RX and fixing classical while time is against you seems like a bit of a challenge I have to say.... Go on the Izotope website and watch their videos if they're still there. Maybe YouTube has them. Easier to look/hear than to read about it here.
Old 13th March 2018
Here for the gear

Thanks Mattias !

anyone else with an idea/who has encountered similar problem ?
videos : nothing close to what I experience on my recording.

I really have RX2 now, low rent, no need of RX normally, so I'm totally fine with it thanks for your concern.
Old 13th March 2018
Lives for gear

Old 13th March 2018
Here for the gear

Yes, I watched some of these on youtube.
Old 13th March 2018
Lives for gear

Spectral repair - replace for low frequency, partials & noise or pattern for higher frequency material.