The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Master degree in Sound Design. School recommendations are needed.
Old 5 days ago
Here for the gear

Master degree in Sound Design. School recommendations are needed.

Hello!

I'm a sound for film student at VGIK, a film school in Moscow, Russia. I have 1.5 year left of my 5 year program and I've been thinking about continuing the education with a master degree program. The problem is that in Russia you can only get a research master course and I want a taught one. It may not happen right after my graduation, indeed, but I think I can start considering it at least. As I'm from outside of Europe some courses can be more costly for me as for a foreign student and I need a bunch of variants so I could compare prices and courses. Some may offer proper scholarships which would be awesome, of course. So, it would be great to hear suggestions of schools around the Globe which have MA taught in English in sound design or sound post production. Thank you!
Old 4 days ago
Gear Head

Don't want to sound negative but if you're trying to work in a studio a masters degree will not help you at all. You'll actually be at a disadvantage because the kids who chose not to continue their education will have 1-2 years more experience then you once you complete your masters.

Experience/Who you know > Degree
Old 4 days ago
Lives for gear

Zdravstvuite!

A masters degree credential probably won't be very useful in the US unless you want to pursue a career as an academic.