The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Dialog Sonics
Old 22nd November 2017
Lives for gear

Dialog Sonics

Could really use a bit of help if any experts care to weigh in. Maybe a little esoteric but there is a dx ‘sound’ which I hear frequently. Might describe as dry, low mid gravel. Almost grainy. Most often heard on television. But elsewhere, too. Very stylized. Only started noticing In last couple years. An example...

https://www.dropbox.com/s/iol22b5ady...ref_M.mp3?dl=0

An editor by trade but also dabble in sonics. Mixers I work with look at me funny when I bring this up. Traditional channels (eq,cmp,limiting,sat) have all led to dead ends. An allpass filter to get some phase lag in low mids gets me in ballpark. But I really need somebody who knows what’s what to set me straight.

What the heck am I missing, dangit?
Old 23rd November 2017
Lives for gear

I am hearing compression, edgy EQ, and Cedar threshold pulled down too far ( too much processing). That's what leads to the dry sound.

Does that help?
Old 23rd November 2017
Lives for gear

Was wondering if Cedar contributed to the sound. Haven't been able to experiment with that box. If so, it has a lot of 'character'.
Old 23rd November 2017
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by galaydees View Post
Was wondering if Cedar contributed to the sound. Haven't been able to experiment with that box. If so, it has a lot of 'character'.
Cedar is used on nearly every dub stage in Hollywood. Some Mixers use it exclusively while others like myself use it in conjunction with other Noise Reduction processing.
It sounded to me like your example had quite a bit of Cedar used, it sounded very dry which is not necessarily an indicator of a lot of processing but had some of that character.
Old 23rd November 2017
Lives for gear