The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
How did you get into post?
Old 8th February 2007
Lives for gear

How did you get into post?

First off, have to say I love this forum already.

I'm curious how those of you who make a living in post got to that point.
Did you slip in from one angle (music editing, sound design, foley, etc.) and just expand your job? Did you develop a suite of skills and start cold-calling post houses?

I'll soon be relocating and I'm going to see that as an opportunity to get into a post house. My current job is what you might call "corporate post"--audio for marketing and training videos for a large corporation. I do field and VO recording, music/sfx editing, mixing, and some VO performance and music composition.

On the side I write and record my own stuff, including some indie film scores.

So I've got some experience, but no idea what a post pro would expect or have come up from.

What skills would you expect a new hire to have?

Thanks in advance!
Old 8th February 2007
Gear Guru

There are a number of secret handshakes involved- and being able to recite volumes of Three Stooges dialog....

charles maynes

Quote:
Originally Posted by krylenko View Post

Did you slip in from one angle (music editing, sound design, foley, etc.) and just expand your job? Did you develop a suite of skills and start cold-calling post houses?

I'll soon be relocating and I'm going to see that as an opportunity to get into a post house. My current job is what you might call "corporate post"--audio for marketing and training videos for a large corporation. I do field and VO recording, music/sfx editing, mixing, and some VO performance and music composition.

So I've got some experience, but no idea what a post pro would expect or have come up from.

Thanks in advance!
Old 9th February 2007
Gear Maniac

Internships is one way of getting into the business. You can also try showbizjobs.com.
Old 9th February 2007
Lives for gear

Quote: