The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Question(s) about potential studio needs/gear
Old 30th January 2007
Here for the gear

Question(s) about potential studio needs/gear

Hello All,

I have a degree in film and have engineered tons of music over the past eight years. I owned a studio for five years that catered to indie artists who had recording budgets in the $5-10k range. My gear was good mid-level stuff: UA gear, higher-end Mackie stuff, Focusrite, Amek, Ampex, etc.

I enjoyed working with the indie-bands and am now interested in opening a modest facility for indie filmmakers in my region. I've mixed/ADR'd/foleyed a few films lately and the results have been very positive.

I have access to a good space, about 1,000 sq. ft. I'm imagining a place where small-time filmmakers can get something better than a guy in his apartment with a computer. Obviously, it won't compete with a big-time post house - but for a nominal fee - they'll get something light-years better than their homemade mix.

What gear do you experts recommend as must-haves that wouldn't break my bank?

The main sticking point is room treatment -- I know the room, in its current state, sounds terrible.

The heart of the mix-room will be a Mac Pro. I want a great metering system and excellent A/D/A -- I'm thinking of using all Benchmark gear. What do you recommend for locking the Mac to an external deck? Or should I work of QTs?

Any advice will be appreciated.
Old 30th January 2007
Lives for gear

Seriously. I wouldn't worry about getting expensive top of the line converters. It might fullfill your own gearlust, but for TV and low budget films, it's a non-issues.
Spend the money on a good projection system, and treating the room.
You'll need a good archiving system. And that can cost a bundle as well.
An extensive SFX library, and a place to do foley.
Don't forget a good sized ADR room as well.
Get the Dolby plug-ins as you'll ahve to eb able to deliver Dolby Lt-Rt mixes for pretty much everythign you mix.