The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Noob question: MixPre 3ii or 6ii?
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear

Noob question: MixPre 3ii or 6ii?

Anyone with experience using MixPre 3ii and/or MixPre 6ii? I’ve been on the fence about which of these to purchase for way too long and need help making the decision. I’m relatively new to sound recording but generally believe in the “buy once cry once” philosophy when purchasing gear.

My anticipated use requirements are as follows:

PODCASTING: Rarely expect to record more than two people in person as most guests will be remote so MixPre 3ii should be fine for this. Want a device that can power mics such as SM7B without additional gain booster which is a main reason for interest in MixPre series.

SOUND FOR FILMMAKING: Mostly short documentary and YouTube content but maybe some commercial work in future. Although rare, I may need to record up to four people at a time (probably three lavs and one boom). Can MixPre 3ii record four people on four separate tracks? I’ve read conflicting information about using the 3.5mm Aux/Mic input while also using the three XLR inputs.

FIELD RECORDING/SFX: This is completely new for me but something I would like to delve further into soon. And this is where I’m the most uncertain about the potential benefit of having the extra inputs of the MixPre 6ii? I won’t be doing anything too serious. Mostly ambiance and SFX for personal film projects. Maybe some stereo recording with a MS setup at some point.

So, given these anticipated uses does anyone see a benefit to going for the MixPre 6ii or do you think the MixPre 3ii will be sufficiently future proof FOR ME?

Thanks in advance. I really value everyone’s expertise on this forum.
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Asyou described your recording, the 6ii. "May" and "rare" mean it will happen. Are you to compromise or turn down work for an overall minor expense?
Old 1 week ago | Show parent
Here for the gear