The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Studio Build - The Sound Lab - Santa Barbara, CA - Part 1.
Old 15th April 2006
Gear Maniac

Studio Build - The Sound Lab - Santa Barbara, CA - Part 1.

Hello All. I have undertaken the creation of a mini sound studio based on the John L. Sayers Studio in a Container design.

Here is the link to the thread:
http://www.johnlsayers.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=4168

Here is the link to the finished studio:
http://www.johnlsayers.com/Studio/Pages/Container.htm

Here is the design. I am modifying it slightly so the tracking room is the larger room and the mix room is the smaller room. The mix position will be turned so that I'm looking to my right into the tracking room.

Here is my layout:

Primarily I am a musician, but I have always loved the engineering side of things. With this studio my intention is to get the growing assortment of gear out of the bedroom and have a space to call my own and create. This will be my first studio build, so I hope to learn a lot about the process in preparation for the day I build something more ambitious. Mostly this space will be used for the creation of my new album and perhaps some occasional project work on the weekends. I have a non-music job at an advertising company, so any money made will probably go back into gear, and/or paying off the build cost. I do very much want for my recordings to sound good, but balanced with keeping the budget reasonable. Currently I have a 1000 square foot loft that I converted from a soap factory two years ago. Fortunately that project taught me everything I needed to know about basic construction, and I still have all the tools and many of the materials to get the project moving. I still needed to research the John L. Sayer site for approximately 40-50 hours to get a handle on sound proofing and sound treatment. There will be some compromises due to the smaller space and budget, so I wanted to be informed so I can feel comfortable with some of the limiting decisions.