The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Mark's mix room build
Old 11th February 2011
Gear Nut

🎧 10 years
Mark's mix room build

Hi, Group -

I'm a long time engineer and am about to build a mix room for my work.

My career has covered staff engineer, chief engineer, and freelance producer/engineer. For many years I would have my clients rent me a premium room in Nashville and other cities but by the end of 2008, low budgets were killing my gigs.

As a stop-gap measure, I started doing mixes in a rented office space, using my analog outboard gear that has traveled with me for years and a Mac Pro running Nuendo and PT LE (for transfers).

Somewhat to my surprise, I got busy! And it's largely with the same client base of Black Gospel producers and Roots/Blues/Rock projects. The little office was a test and since it looks like I have a new career chapter here, I want a better room that is on a higher technical and comfort level.

So, I have contracted Clarity Incorporated to create the space from a design by Jeff Hedback. Jeff is my pick for both innovative design and cost-effective use of space. Clarity is a new company specializing in turnkey installs which I need because I need to keep mixing at the old spot while the new studio comes together.

The new space is over a pizza and beer joint, too, so life is good! I'll attach a concept drawing from Jeff and post other images as we move along.

Regards,

Mark
Attached Files
Old 11th February 2011
Gear Nut

🎧 10 years
That last drawing is a pdf and seems to require downloading to be visible, so I'll upload and "X-Ray" drawing of the new room, showing ceiling devices and an outline of equipment placement. The triangle thing in the back is a pipe I can't relocate so it has a covering that will deflect.

A photo of the present cramped space is next.
Attached Thumbnails
Mark's mix room build-mixer-mark-room-3d-overhead-x-ray.jpg   Mark's mix room build-mw-mix-room.jpg  
Old 11th February 2011 | Show parent
Gear Nut

🎧 10 years