The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
A Start To Finish Pictorial of my New Studio in Central Mexico Dynamics Plugins
Old 12th November 2009
Gear Maniac

A Start To Finish Pictorial of my New Studio in Central Mexico

Hola, all--my name is Doug. I'm a composer/producer who also plays drums, piano, bass, guitar and a few other things.

I've always had a personal studio, ranging from a spare bedroom to a couple of converted garages, but when my wife and I moved to San Miguel de Allende and purchased 5 acres on a hill outside of town, it was an opportunity to build something from the ground up. And we did--after 14 months of construction, we are now living in our dream house, with a dream studio attached.

I laid out the room the way I like to work--with the mix station in the same room as the piano, and the drums and bass recording areas close enough so that I don't feel ridiculous running back and forth for those projects where I play everything.

In addition, I am a jazz musician so I wanted to be able to record a trio with perfect visual communication but some sonic separation--not really sonic isolation but just enough to dampen bleed to a manageable degree.

Building in Mexico brought some challenges--there is very little wood used in construction in my area, for one thing. So I was dealing with brick walls and a bit of sheetrock for the ceilings of the drum and bass booths, and stained polished concrete for the floors.