The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Before and after pics of the studios accommodation
Old 11th May 2008
Lives for gear

Before and after pics of the studios accommodation

I finally thought it was time to share some photos of what I've been doing for the last 3 years. The studio before consisted of a live room 19'x17' and the control room 25'x17' in one bay of a steel framed cow shed.

Because we live in such a remote and generally poor area the studio has done ok but there just isn't the client base around here. So 4 years ago I decided to convert the bay next to the studio into accommodation. The bay is 45'x17' with the ceiling 10' high at the ends and 16' high in the centre.

I am lucky enough to own my own house so I decided to rent that out and move into the studio while it was being built to pay for the build. When I first moved in I had no clean drinking water, no washing facilities, no phone, no TV and slept on a matress on the live room floor! I converted the studio entrance room into a teporary kitchen. Two years ago I got married and my wife joined me in the live room, she is a fantastically patient woman! The first priority was to finish a bedroom and a shower room. This was a huge step in the right direction as it got us out of the live room. It got incredibly tiring moving our bed and stuff out of the live room every time we had a band in!

Anyway 3 1/2 years down the line we have nearly finished, the building has a large lounge/dining area 25'x17' a large bedroom 23'x17' which will sleep 5 comfortably, another bedroom 18'x17' which will sleep 4, a small double bedroom at the back, a shower room ,bathroom and toilet. Also whilst doing the build I added a dead room 12'x10' and 2x isolation booths 6'x4'

I have done all of the work myslef pretty much and I am extemely proud of the place as the only criterea for everything was to use the cheapest possible materials!